HST 114: United States History from 1877 (R. Koczera): Web Resources

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

"Now celebrating its twenty-fifth year, the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History was founded in 1994 by Richard Gilder and Lewis E. Lehrman, visionaries and lifelong supporters of American history education. The Institute is the leading nonprofit organization dedicated to K–12 history education while also serving the general public. Its mission is to promote the knowledge and understanding of American history through educational programs and resources.

At the Institute’s core is the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the great archives in American history. Drawing on the 70,000 documents in the Gilder Lehrman Collection and an extensive network of eminent historians, the Institute provides teachers, students, and the general public with direct access to unique primary source materials."

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

"This site is a collaborative project between the Office of the Historian and the Clerk of the House's Office of Art and Archives. Together, the offices serve as the House’s institutional memory, a resource for Members, staff, and the general public."

"HistoryNet.com is brought to you by World History Group, the world's largest publisher of history magazines. HistoryNet.com contains daily features, photo galleries and over 5,000 articles originally published in our various magazines."

The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world. Millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections, many available digitally.

The Miller Center is a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy, and political history and strives to apply the lessons of history and civil discourse to the nation's most pressing contemporary governance challenges.

"Today the IHA through its website ushistory.org is one of the preeminent providers of online US history, from the pre-colonial era to the present with additional online educational presentations on American Government, Ancient Civilizations and other people, places and events in US history. We are proud to be used as source material in hundreds of public, private and home schools in the US and abroad. In all we do, we seek to educate and motivate an informed citizenry that can shape the future."

The WDL makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures and significant historical documents on one site, in a variety of ways. Content on the WDL includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films.