It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BCC Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate magazine, newspaper, trade, and scholarly journal articles. The databases below have been chosen especially for research in American Sign Language.
CRJ101 Course Tip: Articles will give you a very narrow view on a particular aspect of your research topic. For example, for research in the peer reviewed literature on "Restorative Justice" we will find how this method worked in a specific geographical are or in a specific case study. Magazines will give us a popular look at the topic, and Newspapers will focus on current events.
Step by Step: Finding Articles
Choose the best database for your research needs. BCC Libraries off several databases that might be useful. Check out our Databases by Subject or our Databases A-Z pages for a better understanding of what we offer.
Choose the keywords that best describe the idea of what you're looking for in an article. Often, inspiration can come from your thesis question. For example, the keywords "restorative justice" and "juveniles" might be pulled from the thesis question: "How are juvenile affected by a restorative justice system?"
Identify alternative keywords before you begin searching (adolescents and teens are both acceptable alternative keywords for "juveniles."
Search using Boolean Operators.
Utilize the functions within the databases to narrow to Peer Reviewed Journals, Magazines, and Newspaper Articles.
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
Criminal Justice Collection
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to 150 journals.
Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals and many indexed and abstracted references to articles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage: 1965 – Present.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. It allows you to search for newspapers, periodicals, public records, and legal documents, often within 24 hours of publication, and in some cases going back 20 years. Most documents are available in full text.
Science Direct College Edition is a database of full-text, high quality journals published by Elsevier. This database consists of 2 different collections--Physical Sciences, and Health & Life Sciences. Citations & abstracts are provided for pre-1995 information and for Elsevier journals the library does not subscribe to. Most titles are from 1995 - present.
Watch these videos for tips on how to find Peer Reviewed Articles, Magazines, and Newspapers
A web-based digital video delivery service that allows you instant 24/7 access to over 6,200 full-length programs and 65,800 video segments grouped into prearranged subject-specific categories: Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, Health & Medicine, Technical Education, Family & Consumer Sciences, Careers & Job Search, and Guidance & Counseling.