It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The U.S. Government collects a wide variety of statistics on many sectors of American Life. To see all of the statistics the U.S. Government collects, consult ourUS Government Statistics Research Guide.
Databases incorporating information from various sources such as the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives; the Federal Bureau of Investigation; and the United States Fire Administration. Information maintained by the National Repository is available for statistical analysis and investigative research by scholars and the law enforcement community.
Selected findings from the Census of State and Federal Correctional Facilities. The report includes data on characteristics of facilities by type, size, security level, rated and design capacities, court orders, and use of private contractors. It provides data on custody populations by type of facility, gender, and facility security level. The report includes data on facility staff by gender, occupational categories, and inmate-to-staff ratios by type of facility.
The total correctional population includes all persons incarcerated, either in prison or jail, or supervised in the community either on probation or parole. Several different data collections are used to estimate this population, including the National Prisoner Statistics Program, Annual Survey of Jails, and Annual Probation Survey, Annual Parole Survey (listed under data sources).
Collects information from victims on nonfatal violent and property crimes, reported and not reported to the police, against persons age 12 or older from a nationally representative sample of U.S. households. It produces national rates and levels of personal and property victimization.
Presents data regarding incidents, offenses, victims, and offenders in reported crimes that were motivated in whole or in part by a bias against the victim's perceived race, religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation, or disability.
Includes estimates of the extent of crimes against females and males and the characteristics of crimes and victims. Crime trends are also presented, along with comparative estimates of crimes against males.
The National Institute of Justice — the research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice — is dedicated to improving knowledge and understanding of crime and justice issues through science. NIJ provides objective and independent knowledge and tools to reduce crime and promote justice, particularly at the state and local levels.
Juveniles in crisis—from serious, violent, and chronic offenders to victims of abuse and neglect—pose a challenge to the nation. Charged by Congress to meet this challenge, OJJDP collaborates with professionals from diverse disciplines to improve juvenile justice policies and practices.
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Since 1973, the project has been located at the University at Albany, School of Criminal Justice, and compiled and managed by staff at the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center in Albany, New York.
From the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, data analysis and dissemination tools available through the Statistical Briefing Book give users quick and easy access to detailed statistics on a variety of juvenile justice topics.
Each Wiretap Report uses tables, text, and charts to report information provided by federal and state officials on orders authorizing or approving interceptions of wire, oral, or electronic communications for the calendar year ending December 31.
Library Help Chat
Bristol librarians are available to help you with your research. We provide guidance in locating information and using resources available through the library and on the internet. If you need research help, using the chat box is a fast and easy way to reach out to us!