Skip to main content

OneBook 2017: Born on a Blue Day: Articles and Databases

Searching Databases

The key to being a savvy online searcher is to use common search techniques that you can apply to almost any database, including article databases, online catalogs and even commercial search engines.​ This is important because searching library databases is a bit different from searching Google.

The use of AND

AND is used to tell the database that you want to retrieve documents or items which contain both (or all) of the keywords you specify. It is used to connect unrelated terms or concepts. A search using AND with these keywords would look like this: Aspergers and Education

The use of OR

OR is used to communicate to the database that you want to retrieve documents which contain one, or the other, or all of the terms that you specify. It is used to connect related or synonymous terms and is a very powerful tool in keyword searching. OR allows you to ask the database to retrieve all these variants. For example, an OR search: Pervasive Developmental Disorders or Autism Spectrum Disorders 

The use of NOT

NOT is used to communicate to the database that you do not want the items it retrieves to contain certain terms that you specify; that is, it excludes results. Such as Autism not Aspergers. This will give you search results about autism but not aspergers. 

Truncation

This  is a technique that broadens your search to include various word endings and spellings.

  • To use truncation, enter the root of a word and put the truncation symbol at the end.
  • The database will return results that include any ending of that root word.
  • Examples: 
    child* = child, childs, children, childrens, childhood
    genetic* = genetic, genetics, genetically

 If you are off Campus you will need to enter the 22777 number on the back of your BCC Campus card (ID).

Databases

Using Boolean Operators

How to read a scholarly article