Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HUM264: Remembering the Holocaust in Literature and History (Tinberg & Weisberger): Fair Use Photos

What is Fair Use?

According to the U.S. Copyright Office, Fair Use is a legal doctrine that promotes freedom of expression by permitting the unlicensed use of copyright-protected works in certain circumstances.  The law provides a statutory framework for when "fair use" can be applied, and that includes teaching, scholarship, and research.

On this page you'll find links to the terms and conditions for the use of photographs in the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum and Yad Vashem digital collections. 

All photographs should be correctly attributed and linked to the institution where you found them.

The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

The U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum has a vast digital archives that can be helpful to any research.  Specifically of interest for photographs, they provide an image search which can be used for your digital projects.

According to the USHMM's Terms and Conditions, most photographs in the archives have been determined to be in the public domain. 

When using photographs from this collection, attribution and direct links must be created. Below please find a photograph linked the the collection as well as examples of how to cite it in both MLA and APA format.

An Archway at Theresienstadt bearing the phrase, "Arbeit Macht Frei."

APA
Terezin [Photograph]. (1941).  United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Washington, D.C. https://collections.ushmm.org/search/catalog/pa1175548 

APA generally uses a figure system to cite images. Number each photograph Figure 1, Figure 2, etc. 

Example: Figure 1. Terezin. Copyright by the United states Holocaust Memorial Museum. Reprinted with permission.

Learn more about citing photographs in APA at The Owl
MLA
"Terezin." 1941, United States Holocaust Memorial Museumhttps://collections.ushmm.org/search/catalog/pa1175548. Accessed 3 February 2021.

MLA lends itself more to the citation of photographs as MLA is more commonly used in the arts. 

Learn more at The Owl.

 

Yad Vashem, The World Holocaust Remembrance Center

Yad Vashem, The World Holocaust Remembrance Center, has an expansive list of digital collections, including photographs and primary sources. Over 350,000 photographs can be found in their collection, and are searchable over the web. The archive is extremely detailed and will be useful for your digital projects.

According to Yad Vashem's Terms and Conditions, the use of copyrighted material may be used for non-commerical educational purposes. Users are able to download images as long as they comply with the following conditions: the photo will be used to educational purposes, the users cites the image fully, no content may be altered, and the user must comply with individual file restrictions.

Below please find a photograph linked to the collection as well as examples of how to cite it in both MLA and APA format.

Inge Fischer, Praha, Czechoslovakia

APA
Inge Fischer, Praha, Czechoslovakia [Photograph]. (n.d.).  Yad Vashem, Jerusalem, Isreal.  https://photos.yadvashem.org/photo-details.html?language=en&item_id=1001814&ind=5

APA generally uses a figure system to cite images. Number each photograph Figure 1, Figure 2, etc. 

Example: Figure 1. Inge Fischer, Praha, Czechoslovakia. Copyright by Yad Vashem. Reprinted with permission.

Learn more about citing photographs in APA at The Owl

MLA
"Inge Fischer, Praha, Czechoslovakia." N.d. Yad Vashem, The World Holocaust Remembrance Centerhttps://photos.yadvashem.org/photo-details.html?language=en&item_id=1001814&ind=5. Accessed 3 February 2021.

MLA lends itself more to the citation of photographs as MLA is more commonly used in the arts.

 

Learn more at The Owl.