Skip to Main Content

HUM264: Remembering the Holocaust in Literature and History (Tinberg & Weisberger): Articles & Databases

ARTICLES & DATABASES

Academic journal articles are often the "gold standard" for academic research.  Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field, they provide a close look at a particular topic, and often provide data to support their findings. If you find a good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research. You find these articles in our databases which index hundreds of thousands journal articles, magazine articles, news articles, and reports.

How do I get into a BPL Database?

 If you see this symbol

Boston Public Library Logo

You will know that the databases is provided through the Boston Public Library.  If you live, work, or go to school in the state of Massachusetts, you are eligible for a Boston Public Library eCard.  Fill out the form below and you will receive your eCard number. 

Just enter your BPL eCard number when prompted every time you access BPL databases.

Recommended Academic Databases

Newspaper Databases

Why should I look for academic articles?

Why should you do research in academic journals?

  • Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
  • Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
  • Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
  • Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies

If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.