Skip to main content

ENG 101: College Writing (Quick): Articles

Why should I look for academic articles?

Why should you do research in academic journals?

  • Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
  • Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
  • Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
  • Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies

If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.

What are Library Databases?

Multidisciplinary Article Databases

Use BCC library databases to find articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers. Review the Search Tips page for help in constructing a good search phrase. Most databases have options for limiting results, such as by publication date, resource type, additional subjects. Check them out - it's well worth your time to target your results! An alphabetical listing of BCC's databases provides a brief description of each and the subject matter covered. Below is a selection of databases which are useful for College Writing:

Topic Portals

Topic portals organize selected sources to introduce you to a variety of current events, influential people and controversial issues. The content in these "gateway pages"  is by no means exhaustive so use it more as a jumping off point. 

Newspapers from Across the Nation & Around the World

How Can I Tell if an Article is Popular or Scholarly?

How do I get into a BPL Database?

 If you see this symbol

Boston Public Library Logo

You will know that the databases is provided through the Boston Public Library.  If you live, work, or go to school in the state of Massachusetts, you are eligible for a Boston Public Library eCard.  Fill out the form below and you will receive your eCard number. 

Just enter your BPL eCard number when prompted every time you access BPL databases.

Search Films on Demand

Search Films on Demand from anywhere to find educational streaming videos.