Reference Resources
Reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks, etc.) are essential to research. They provide quick facts, statistics, and topical overviews that may not be found elsewhere. The reference databases below require an active BCC ID to access.
Library Help Chat
If chat is unavailable, please use our Ask-A-Librarian page to submit a question or make an appointment with Book-A-Librarian.
Reference Databases
Please note that if you are accessing the following titles from an off campus location, you will be prompted for a "barcode," which is the 14 digit number on the back of your BCC Campus ID.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
-
Britannica Library: Reference Center This link opens in a new windowAccess to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the insightful Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research—all from one database.
-
Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowFull text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.
-
Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
