Skip to main content

ENG101: College Writing (Diantha Quick): Bibliography

Bibliography

Book Bibliography

Bottigheimer, Ruth. Fairy Tales: A New History. Excelsior Editions, 2009.

Briggs, K. M. The Fairies in English Tradition and Literature. University of Chicago Press, 1967.

Dorson, Richard, editor. Folklore and Folklife: An Introduction. University of Chicago Press, 1972.

Garry, Jane and Hasan El-Shamy, editors. Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature: A Handbook. M.E. Sharpe, 2005.

Opie, Iona and Peter Opie. The Classic Fairy Tales. Oxford University Press, 1974.

Paradiz, Valerie. Clever Maids: The Secret History of the Grimm Fairy Tales. Basic Books, 2005.

Tartar, Maria. Off with their Heads! Fairytales and Culture of Childhood. Princeton University Press, 1992.

Chapter Bibliography

Bottigheimer, Ruth. "The Late Seventeenth- and Eighteenth Century Layers: Perrault, Lheritier, and their Successors." Fairy Tales: A New History. Excelsior Editions, 2009, pp. 53-74.

Bottigheimer, Ruth. "Two Inventors of Fairy Tale Tradition: Giambattista Basile (1634-1636) and Giovan Francesco Straparola (1551, 1553)." Fairy Tales: A New History. Excelsior Editions, 2009, pp. 75-102.

Garry, Jane and Hasan El-Shamy, editors. "Return of the Dead Mother." Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature: A Handbook. M.E. Sharpe, 2005, pp. 184-185.

Garry, Jane and Hasan El-Shamy, editors. "Step Relatives." Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature: A Handbook. M.E. Sharpe, 2005, pp. 362-367.

Garry, Jane and Hasan El-Shamy, editors."The Magic Cloak of Invisibility." Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature: A Handbook. M.E. Sharpe, 2005, pp. 161-163.

Garry, Jane and Hasan El-Shamy, editors."The Slipper Test." Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature: A Handbook. M.E. Sharpe, 2005, pp. 237-241.

Opie, Iona and Peter Opie."Cinderella. 'Cinderilla: or, The Little Glass Slipper." The Classic Fairy Tales. Oxford University Press, 1974, pp. 123-127.

Tartar, Maria. "Tyranny at Home: "Catskin" and "Cinderella."" Off with their Heads! Fairytales and Culture of Childhood. Princeton University Press, 1992, pp. 120-139.