It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference resources are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals and other books that you would refer to when wanting to know a definition of a word or concept, a general overview of a topic, specific information about a certain period of time or event in history.
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
Full text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
Illustrated history of a thousand years of amazing diversity and development, from the fall of the Roman Empire around AD 500 and the Islamic expansion, to the discovery of the New World by Columbus in 1492.
Records the history of human society throughout the world, from prehistory to the beginning of the twenty-first century. Provides worldwide coverage of socio-economic, cultural, and religious themes throughout history, as well as political history.
A survey of the Renaissance-era topics most studied in high school world history, art literature, economics and science curriculum. Presents 465 alphabetically arranged entries broadly covering people, places, events, concepts, works of art and literature, and scientific achievements from around 1350 to 1620