Skip to main content

MED101: Introduction to Clinical Lab Science (St. George): Articles & Databses

Finding Articles through the BCC Libraries

BCC Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate magazine, newspaper, trade, and scholarly journal articles.  The databases below have been chosen especially for research for MED101.

Icon Legend

http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/imagemanager/89541/bpl.png

http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/imagemanager/89541/peer_review_icon.png

http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/imagemanager/89541/government_document.jpg

Boston Public Library Resource

Peer Reviewed Content

United States Government Document or Publication

Selected Databases

Remote Access for Science Direct

Follow these steps to request remote access for your account:

  1. Go to the ScienceDirect main page.
  2. Click 'Remote access’ in the footer of the page. The ‘Apply for remote access’ dialog displays.

 

remote access

 

  1. Enter your email address and click 'Continue’.
    • You may be requested to select your organisation if more than one account or organization is associated with your email address.
  2. If you are not registered in ScienceDirect, the registration page displays.
    Either register for an account with ScienceDirect and click ‘Register’ or click ‘Continue without registering’.
  3. You will receive an email with a remote access activation link. Click the link to activate your account.

After completing these steps:

  • You may be prompted to sign in.
  • You will have remote access for 180 days to your account.
  • Your access will automatically be extended each time you sign into your account.
  • You may need to repeat this process, if you do not sign in to ScienceDirect for a long time.

Why should I look for academic articles?

Why should you do research in academic journals?

  • Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
  • Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
  • Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
  • Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies

If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.

How do I get into a BPL Database?

 If you see this symbol

Boston Public Library Logo

You will know that the databases is provided through the Boston Public Library.  If you live, work, or go to school in the state of Massachusetts, you are eligible for a Boston Public Library eCard.  Fill out the form below and you will receive your eCard number. 

Just enter your BPL eCard number when prompted every time you access BPL databases.