Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HLT 162 - Selected Topics in Health Science : Hiller: Finding Books

Courseguide for HLT 162

Finding Books

Massachusetts Commonwealth Catalog

Commonwealth Catalog is the easiest way to get a book if you can't find it in the SAILS online catalog. The Commonwealth Catalog is the combined catalog of

  • Bridgewater State University
  • CLAMS Library Network (CLAMS)
  • Fenway Libraries Online (FLO)
  • Minuteman Library Network
  • Old Colony Library Network (OCLN)
  • SAILS Library Network (SAILS)
  • UMass Amherst

The Commonwealth Catalog extends your search beyond your local library’s resources.In one easy step, you can search through millions of items at participating libraries across Massachusetts to find the books, DVDs, and music you’re looking for. Make a request and it will be delivered right to your local library for quick pickup. You know what you want — let the Commonwealth Catalog help you get it. 

Please search the SAILS Enterprise catalog first. If the material you want is not available in the catalog, please log in below to use the Commonwealth Catalog. For additional assistance, please contact your local library. Search catalog as a guest.

After doing a search in SAILS, you can click the "Search the Virtual Catalog". You can also click on the link for the Commonwealth Catalog to log into the virtual catalog directly.

The Commonwealth Catalog allows library users in good standing to:

  • Simultaneously search several library catalogs.
  • Request items that are unavailable at any SAILS Library.
  • Have a total of 5 active requests at any time.

SAILS

The Online Catalog

SAILS, Learning Resources Center's online catalog contains all the books and other materials that the Library purchases. Use it to search for a specific author or title or to compile a bibliography on a specific topic. The Learning Resources Center uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. To find books on a particular subject, use the Keyword search option. Then look at the subjects under which it has been cataloged to find additional items on the subject.

Ebooks

  • Credo Reference  
    Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.

  • ebrary
    The collection for Community and Career Colleges contains more than 19,500 titles.  Subject areas include: Nursing and Allied Health, Computer Technologies and Business, Law Enforcement, Criminal Law, and Criminology, Culinary Arts, Industrial Arts and more.

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library 
    Full text database providing 23 subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include contemporary fashion, poets and novelists, film, alternative medicine, popular culture, small business and more. Includes two children’s visual reference books on the U.S. and the world.

Destination: Library

Profile Photo
Melanie Johnson
Chat now
Contact:
Serials & Access Services
Includes:
* Circulation Services
* Inter-library Loan
* Course Reserves
* Serials Management
* Division IV Liaison


Bristol Community College
Library & Learning Commons - Building A
777 Elsbree Street
Fall River, MA 02720
508-678-2811 x2458

"Not all those who wander are lost." -- J.R.R. Tolkien