Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HLT 162 - Selected Topics in Health Science : Hiller: Journals

Courseguide for HLT 162

What is Full Text Finder?

Full Text Finder

Full Text Finder is a new state-of-the-art publication search service that includes your knowledgebase and a suite of holdings management tools and is designed to replace the existing EBSCO A-to-Z Reader Site.  Full Text Finder  is a searchable database from Ebsco that allows you to locate journals within the collection of print and online journals.  It includes journals we have access to within the many databases to which we subscribe. 

For instance, if you type in a journal we have online access to, Full Text Finder is going to direct you to the full text page with a list of what database it is located and the time frame in which coverage is provided: 

Critical Care Nurse

 

If we do not have online access, Full Text Finder is going to let you know we have the title in print.

American Journal of Nursing

ISSN: 0002-936X
 
 

If there is no access to a title in which you need for your research, you may place an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for the article title.

Journals and Magazines

There are many sources in the library where one can locate journals - which contain the articles - required for research.  There is the traditional method of print and microfilm, where you have to go to the library and photocopy or print out the information you need.

We also subscribe to a plethora of on-line databases, which provide access to the full text journal on-lineStudents are able to type in a variety of topics, for instance "nursing, HIPAA, wound care" either separately or together as a string, and the databases searches and finds a multitude of information in the form of articles which can be accessed.  BCC students are able to access the databases from home.

In addition, we have provided links to "open source" journals and articles, which means that the publisher is "allowing" the journal and articles within to be accessed for free.

TITLE

JAMA : the journal of the American Medical Association
Print Holdings - 1985-2005


Health & Social Care in the Community


Evidence-based nursing

Nursing Ethics: An International Journal for Health Care Professionals


Academy of Health Care Management Journal


Articles from DOAJ

Portuguese Translation of a Pathways to Care Analysis Questionnaire: “Encounter Form”
Subjects: Psychiatry, Neurology. Diseases of the nervous system, Neurosciences. Biological psychiatry. Neuropsychiatry, Internal medicine, Medicine, Psychiatry, Neurology. Diseases of the nervous system, Neurosciences. Biological psychiatry. Neuropsychiatry, Internal medicine, Medicine
Authors: José Lanceiro Ramos, Natasha Oliveira
Publisher: Hospital Prof. Doutor Fernando Fonseca, EPE
Date of publication: 2013 November
Published in: PsiLogos, Vol 10, Iss 2(2013)
ISSN(s): 1646-091X, 2182-3146
Date added to DOAJ: 2014-04-04
Full text: http://revistas.rcaap.pt/psilogos/article/view/3227
Journal Language(s): Portuguese, English
Journal License: CC BY
Country of publication: Portugal
Abstract:
Studying pathways to mental health care allows an understanding of the patterns of help seeking of a specific population, which is achieved by analyzing the characteristics of the patients, the contacts made with health careers and the delays between each contact, among other variables. For this purpose, a systematized questionnaire designed to gather this data is needed. One of these instruments, called “Encounter Form”, created by the World Health Organization to be used in the first pathways to mental health care study, is presented here translated to Portuguese.


International medical graduates in family medicine in the United States of America: an exploration of professional characteristics and attitudes
Subjects: Public aspects of medicine, Medicine, Public Health, Health Sciences, Public aspects of medicine, Medicine, Public Health, Health Sciences, Public aspects of medicine, Medicine, Public aspects of medicine, Medicine, Public aspects of medicine, Medicine
Authors: Green Larry A, Fryer George E, Phillips Robert L, Morris Amanda L, Mullan Fitzhugh
Publisher: BioMed Central
Date of publication: 2006 July
Published in: Human Resources for Health, Vol 4, Iss 1, Pp 17(2006)
ISSN(s): 1478-4491
Date added to DOAJ: 2006-08-26
DOI: 10.1186/1478-4491-4-17
Full text: http://www.human-resources-health.com/content/4/1/17
Journal Language(s): English
Journal License: CC BY
Country of publication: United Kingdom

Abstract:
Background
The number of international medical graduates (IMGs) entering family medicine in the United States of America has steadily increased since 1997. Previous research has examined practice locations of these IMGs and their role in providing care to underserved populations. To our knowledge, research does not exist comparing professional profiles, credentials and attitudes among IMG and United States medical graduate (USMG) family physicians in the United States. The objective of this study is to determine, at the time when a large influx of IMGs into family medicine began, whether differences existed between USMG and IMG family physicians in regard to personal and professional characteristics and attitudes that may have implications for the health care system resulting from the increasing numbers of IMGs in family medicine in the United States.

Methods
This is a secondary data analysis of the 1996–1997 Community Tracking Study (CTS) Physician Survey comparing 2360 United States medical graduates and 366 international medical graduates who were nonfederal allopathic or osteopathic family physicians providing direct patient care for at least 20 hours per week.

Results
Compared to USMGs, IMGs were older (p < 0.001) and practised in smaller (p = 0.0072) and younger practices (p < 0.001). Significantly more IMGs practised in metropolitan areas versus rural areas (p = 0.0454). More IMG practices were open to all new Medicaid (p = 0.018) and Medicare (p = 0.0451) patients, and a greater percentage of their revenue was derived from these patients (p = 0.0020 and p = 0.0310). Fewer IMGs were board-certified (p < 0.001). More IMGs were dissatisfied with their overall careers (p = 0.0190). IMGs and USMGs did not differ in terms of self-rated ability to deliver high-quality care to their patients (p = 0.4626). For several of the clinical vignettes, IMGs were more likely to order tests, refer patients to specialists or require office visits than USMGs.

Conclusion
There are significant differences between IMG and USMG family physicians' professional profiles and attitudes. These differences from 1997 merit further exploration and possible follow-up, given the increased proportion of family physicians who are IMGs in the United States.


Topic: Nursing Around the World Title: Historical, Cultural, and Contemporary Influences on the Status of Women in Nursing in Saudi Arabia
Subjects: Nursing, Medicine, Nursing, Health Sciences, Nursing, Medicine, Nursing, Health Sciences, Nursing, Medicine, Nursing, Medicine, Nursing, Medicine
Authors: Kolleen Miller-Rosser, Ysanne Chapman, Karen Francis
Publisher: Kent State University School of Nursing
Date of publication: 2006 September
Published in: Online Journal of Issues in Nursing, Vol 11, Iss 3(2006)
ISSN(s): 1091-3734
Keywords: education, expatriate nursing workforce, female employment, nurses, nursing, Saudi Arabia
Date added to DOAJ: 2008-12-30
Full text: www.nursingworld.org/MainMenuCategories/ANAMarketplace/ANAPeriodicals/OJIN/TableofContents/Volume112006/Number3/ArticlePreviousTopics/WomeninNursinginSaudiArabia.aspx
Journal Language(s): English
Country of publication: United States
Abstract:
Global nursing shortages have necessitated closer scrutiny of recruitment and retention initiatives of nurses both locally and internationally. For many decades the nursing workforce of Saudi Arabia has relied on international expatriates to be the backbone of the industry. In recent years however, Saudi women have been recruited into nursing preparation courses conducted at degree level. The many twists and turns of providing a local Saudi Arabian nursing workforce has paralleled Saudi's own history and this paper follows that journey. Our research has enabled us to provide some insights into nursing pre and post the enlightenment that accompanied the Prophet Mohammed's influence. We emphasize the influences of women leaders who emerged in Mohammed's time and bring lasting authority to the development of nursing in Saudi Arabia. The cultural issues that bind women in this society are explicated and related to recruitment and retention issues in nursing. Education matters, both past and present, are highlighted emphasizing the gains that nursing as a distinct occupation has made. Finally the paper concludes with a summation of contemporary achievements in Saudi Arabia moving nursing towards the much needed professional status and parity with other careers in health care.

Directory of Open Access Journals

The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

Click on the link to access the database.

Browse the Collection

DOAJ


How do I access from home?...

One of your first duties as a student is to "activate" your BCC Campus card...aka...student ID.  Why?  Well, once activated, the back of your library card, the barcode (22777...) becomes your accessPass to the libraries resources from home, or for that matter wherever you are that has a internet connection and a device to load it.

If you are trying to access books or online books, please type in the barcode from the back of your activated BCC Campus card.  This will ensure remote access.


Most databases are accessible on campus and off campus with a valid BCC Campus card activated at the library. If the barcode on the back of your ID is not working (22777...) please visit the Library at any of the three campuses to activate.

Any questions please email me @ Melanie Johnson.