Skip to main content

HCI 237 - Human Disease, Diagnosis and Treatment : Berube: Articles & Databases

Courseguide for HCI 237

Search Streaming Videos

Search Films on Demand to locate streaming videos on American Sign Language and other related subjects.

Comprehensive Databases

Health Online Databases

Scientific & Medical Art Imagebase
The Scientific & Medical ART (SMART) Imagebase is a collection of 20,000+ high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics.  SMART Imagebase users may download images for educational, non-commercial use in lectures, presentations, slide shows, web sites and more. Common types of visual presentations include PowerPoint shows, handouts, poster sessions, and interactive Flash animations.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information Provides patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly.

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Medical database providing full text for over 100 journals, including full text for many peer-reviewed, scholarly publications. (Some titles have indexing and abstracts only for earlier years.) Virtually every area of medical study is covered, including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences. All titles included in this database are also indexed in MEDLINE, with a link from the MEDLINE article to the article in this database if Biomedical Reference Collection has the full text article. Coverage: 1985 – present.

CINAHL This database provides indexing for over 2,818 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Full text material includes more than 70 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Coverage: 1982 – present.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text Providing full text for more than 760 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 456 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo.

Health and Wellness Resource Center Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

Health Reference Center Academic This multi-source database integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books. Most of these sources provide the full text of the article/chapter. Find articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. Coverage: 1980 – present.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Provides access to nearly 550 scholarly full text journals. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Coverage: 1975 – present.

Health Source: Consumer Edition One of the richest collections of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing access to nearly 300 full text consumer health periodicals. It also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 129 health reference books. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports; Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to 1,100 drug monograph entries and 2,700 patient education fact sheets; and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.

Magill’s Medical Guide The Guide includes over 1,000 essays, ranging in length from 500 to 3,500 words each. There are more than 400 photographs and drawings plus 644 sidebars and tables. The new edition introduces particularly current subject areas such as facial transplantation and Avian influenza (bird flu). Plus, the Guide includes 44 "In the News" sidebars that evaluate recent media stories about ongoing research and experimental treatments.

MEDLINE MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search citations and abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Nursing Resource Center Designed for nursing students, the Nursing Resource Center brings together in an easy-to-use interface disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts. The information is written in accessible language for students completing class assignments and preparing for clinicals as they learn how to care for and treat patients. Search results are returned in tabs that correspond to steps in the nursing process.

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection Both researcher and practitioner alike will find relevant, authoritative content in this collection, which includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Covering a wide spectrum of information, researchers will have access to a diverse, but focused set of topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.

Keyword Searching with Boolean

Keyword searching uses the words AND, OR, and NOT as connectors between keyword terms to tell a database or catalog how to search according to a system of Boolean logic.

 

1.     Turn your research question or statement into keywords:

                    Introduce therapy dogs to sufferes of PTSD in a Veterans Affairs Hospital.

"therapy dogs"*      PTSD      veteran

*Two or more word phrases should be put into quotes: a phrase search.

2.    Make a list of synonyms for each of the concepts:

 "therapy dogs"                                                               PTSD                                                                              Veteran

"therapy animal"                                             "Post traumatic Stress Disorder"                                                            

                                              

 3.    Use Boolean logic to connect these keywords into a search statement.

 "therapy dog"    and    PTSD

Your results will show only articles that contain both words.

 PTSD    or    "Post Traumatic Stress Disorder"

Your results will show only articles in which at least one of the terms in each circle appears.

 "therapy dog"   not    pet

Your results will show only articles in which the phrase "therapy dog" appears, but not the word pet. It is best to use “not” only when excluding terms.

 4.    Use Truncation to pick up plurals or alternative endings.

 The truncation symbol in the majority of the databases is an asterisk (*), but some databases will recognize a question mark (?), hash mark (#), or exclamation point (!).

 

employ* : employee, employed, or employment