Skip to main content

HCI 237 - Human Disease, Diagnosis and Treatment : Berube: Diseases

Courseguide for HCI 237

CDC Diseases and Conditions

The CDC has created a list of Diseases & Conditions organized alphabetically.  This link will take you to the landing page which includes a short list of the more popular health topics. 

To learn more about a given topic, or to see if your topic is included in the A-Z Index list, click on the letter your topic begins with, such as choosing the letter "A", and then scrolling through the list for the term, such as Adenovirus Infection. 

When you click on the linked term, it provides information about what the term is, how it is acquired, and how to prevent or if there is a cure.  It also  provides a comprehensive and detailed review of the condition or disease.

CDC.gov

How do I access from home?...

One of your first duties as a student is to "activate" your BCC Campus card...aka...student ID.  Why?  Well, once activated, the back of your library card, the barcode (22777...) becomes your accessPass to the libraries resources from home, or for that matter wherever you are that has a internet connection and a device to load it.

If you are trying to access books or online books, please type in the barcode from the back of your activated BCC Campus card.  This will ensure remote access.


To access Films on Demand

BCC Libraries provide access to a collection of streaming videos specific for anatomy topics. Below is a brief description of the selected titles and instructions on how to access. Please visit the database Films On Demand for further streaming videos on your topic.

Films On Demand videos are accessible on campus and off campus with a valid BCC Campus card activated at the library. If the barcode on the back of your ID is not working (22777...) please visit the Library at any of the three campuses to activate.

Any questions please email me @ Melanie Johnson.

Diseases Defined

Full Definition of DISEASE

1: obsolete :  trouble
2::  a condition of the living animal or plant body or of one of its parts that impairs normal functioning and is typically manifested by distinguishing signs and symptoms :  sickness, malady
3:  a harmful development (as in a social institution)
dis·eased adjective
 

Origin of DISEASE
Middle English disese, from Anglo-French desease, desaise, from des- dis- + eiseease

First Known Use: 14th century

dis·ease
noun \di-ˈzēz\

: an illness that affects a person, animal, or plant : a condition that prevents the body or mind from working normally

: a problem that a person, group, organization, or society has and cannot stop

Medical Definition of DISEASE

: an impairment of the normal state of the living animal or plant body or one of its parts that interrupts or modifies the performance of the vital functions, is typically manifested by distinguishing signs and symptoms, and is a response to environmental factors (as malnutrition, industrial hazards, or climate), to specific infective agents (as worms, bacteria, or viruses), to inherent defects of the organism (as genetic anomalies), or to combinations of these factors : sickness, illness—called also morbus; compare health 1

dis·eased adjective

-American Psychological Association (APA):
Disease. (n.d.). Retrieved August 27, 2014, from http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/disease

Books in the Library

Cover image for Challenges in infectious diseases
Series:Emerging infectious diseases of the 21st century

Summary:"This new volume ... aims to address demands and challenges that various infections present to the world at large ('global challenges'), such as the HIV pandemic, continuous threat of spreading common multiresistant pathogenic bacteria, multidrug and extensive drug-resistant tuberculosis, and the influence we can expect on these epidemics with global climate change and international urbanization ... Chapters on these various topics authored by world-renowned experts on these areas provide state-of-the-art reviews on epidemiology, biology, clinical aspects, prevention, current approaches to control, and prevention such as new vaccines, and reassessment of past and present methods are discussed"--Pref.
Bristol CC - New Bedford RC 112 C43 2013 Stacks

Cover image for Handbook of diseases / Springhouse ; Stacey A. Follin, David P. Lenker ; editors ; Arlene M. Coughlin [and fifteen others] contributors.

Films on Demand

Alpha-1 Genetic Deficiency
Left untreated, alpha-1 antitrypsin deficiency can seriously, even fatally, damage the liver and lungs. This program enables viewers to understand the incurable disorder and how it can be identified and treated. Computer-generated animation shows how AAT, a protein that facilitates lung function, can back up in the liver and never reach the lungs. Three case studies, including one featuring a lung transplant patient, help to explain AATD’s causes, symptoms, and lifestyle impact while outlining protein augmentation therapy and oxygen supplementation. Dr. Kyle Hogarth of the University of Chicago Medical Center and John Walsh, founder of the Alpha 1 Foundation, are featured in interviews. Run Time: 25 minutes

Diabetes: The Underestimated Threat – The Big 4: Fighting Modern Diseases
The most common diseases in our society today, cancer, Alzheimer's, heart disease and diabetes, are a concern for everyone. And yet, those who are diagnosed with them often feel helpless as they search for answers in a muddle of conflicting information. What can high-tech medicine do and not do? Are the latest therapies always the best ones? Where have the real successes been achieved in the battle against illness? Run Time: 43 minutes

Diseases of the Blood: Issues and Answers
Multiple myeloma and chronic lymphocytic leukemia are two blood cancers that are known to devastate the human immune system. In this program, Bart Barlogie of the Arkansas Cancer Research Center, Michael Keating of the M. D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, and other medical experts explore how breakthroughs in chemotherapy and other treatments including stem cell transplants can aid remission of multiple myeloma and CLL. The efforts of educational foundations to increase awareness, provide vital information and support to patients, and fund new research are also spotlighted. Run Time: 23 minutes

Emerging Diseases
An outbreak of mad cow disease shut down Britain’s cattle industry, resulting in the slaughter of hundreds of thousands of animals and costing the nation billions of dollars. What is mad cow disease, scientifically known as bovine spongiform encephalopathy? Could an outbreak happen in the U.S.? What other types of transmissible spongiform encephalopathies are out there? What precautions is the USDA taking to reduce the likelihood of occurrence and stem the spread of these degenerative neurological diseases among animals and people? And what might happen if those precautions fail? This program answers those and other questions as it sheds light on this emerging group of food-borne diseases. Chronic wasting disease, Norwalk virus, and bovine tuberculosis are also addressed. Correlates to the Health National Standards from the Joint Committee for National School Health Education and the American Cancer Society and the National Content Standards for Health according to the American School Health Association. A Cambridge Educational Production. Run Time: 17 minutes

Emerging Diseases: Prions and Viruses
In an increasingly global society, disease outbreaks are on the rise—and so is the need for epidemiology expertise. This program introduces students to vital information regarding the transmission, clinical features, diagnosis, treatment, vectors, prevention, and control of several communicable diseases. Students receive vital information on zoonotic diseases such as SARS, Rift Valley fever, and avian influenza, including steps typically taken to manage and mitigate the spread of these illnesses. Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease is also discussed. An experienced virology specialist discusses the science behind each of these diseases and current efforts to combat them. Viewable/printable educational resources are available online. Original title: Emerging Diseases: Prions, Viruses. Run Time: 29 minutes

The Forgotten Diseases: Kill or Cure, Series 3
Among the research and funding experts of the global health community, the “Big Three” diseases are AIDS, tuberculosis, and malaria. As urgent as it is to fight these illnesses, many others also need attention and aren’t getting it. These “forgotten diseases” include elephantiasis (or lymphatic filariasis), bilharzia (or schistosomiasis), and river blindness (or onchocerciasis), among others. This program examines the medical science at the core of all three afflictions while also discussing many of the economic and organizational challenges that are hindering action against them. Experts include Professor Alan Fenwick of Imperial College, London; Professor David Molyneux of the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine; Dr. Lorenzo Savioli of the WHO; and Dr. Chris Hentschel of the Medicines for Malaria Venture. A BBC Production. Part 10 of the series Kill or Cure: Series 3—From the BBC. Run Time: 25 minutes

 

Complete Human Diseases and Conditions : Gale Virtual Reference

Complete Human Diseases and Conditions, 2008


Title:
Complete Human Diseases and Conditions

Editor(s):Neil Izenberg and Steven A. Dowshen

Imprint:Charles Scribner's Sons
Place of Publication:Detroit
Publication Year:2008
No. of Volumes: 3

Gale Subject Headings: Diseases and conditions; Health and medicine

LC Subject(s): Medicine, Popular-Encyclopedias, Juvenile-Diseases-Encyclopedias, Juvenile-Health-Encyclopedias, Juvenile

Description: Presents information on numerous diseases and conditions. Articles include a definition of the disease or condition, an explanation of how it works in the body, information on causes, symptoms and diagnosis, treatment or cure, and lifestyles.