Skip to main content

HCI 237 - Human Disease, Diagnosis and Treatment : Berube: Anatomy

Courseguide for HCI 237

Atlas of Human Anatomy

Atlas of Human Anatomy http://www.anatomyatlases.org/atlasofanatomy/index.shtml

This atlas is translated from the original atlas entitled "Handbuch der Anatomie des Menschen" which was published in 1841 in Leipzig, Germany. The author of this atlas was Professor Dr. Carl Ernest Bock, who lived from 1809-1874.

Note for our readers

This atlas of anatomy, and all other atlases and books depicting human anatomy, provide illustrations that are representations of the human body. It must be remembered that no two bodies are anatomically identical. Variations in anatomy, many medically significant, may be found in the muscles, blood supply, nerves, all other organs, and the skeleton. The number of variations is finite, they have appeared repeatedly for over four hundred years, and have been cataloged. See Illustrated Encyclopedia of Human Anatomic Variation.

Plate 1: Bones of the skull

 

How do I access from home?...

One of your first duties as a student is to "activate" your BCC Campus card...aka...student ID.  Why?  Well, once activated, the back of your library card, the barcode (22777...) becomes your accessPass to the libraries resources from home, or for that matter wherever you are that has a internet connection and a device to load it.

If you are trying to access books or online books, please type in the barcode from the back of your activated BCC Campus card.  This will ensure remote access.


To access Films on Demand

BCC Libraries provide access to a collection of streaming videos specific for anatomy topics. Below is a brief description of the selected titles and instructions on how to access. Please visit the database Films On Demand for further streaming videos on your topic.

Films On Demand videos are accessible on campus and off campus with a valid BCC Campus card activated at the library. If the barcode on the back of your ID is not working (22777...) please visit the Library at any of the three campuses to activate.

Any questions please email me @ Melanie Johnson.

Anatomy Defined

noun, plural anatomies.

1. the science dealing with the structure of animals and plants.
2. the structure of an animal or plant, or of any of its parts.
3. dissection of all or part of an animal or plant in order to study its structure.
4. a plant or animal that has been or will be dissected, or a model of such a dissected organism.
5. a skeleton.
6. Informal. the human body.
7. an analysis or minute examination.

- American Psychological Association (APA):
anatomy. (n.d.). Dictionary.com Unabridged. Retrieved August 26, 2014,  from Dictionary.com website: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/anatomy

Books in the Library

Title:Anatomy & physiology
Edition:Second edition.
Physical Description:1 online resource
Subject Term:

Title:Human anatomy & physiology
Edition:6th ed.
Subject Term:
Access: Located @ BCC Attleboro - QP 34.5 M265 2004

Title:Human anatomy & physiology : Brief atlas of the human body
Edition:7th ed.
Subject Term:
Access: Located @ BCC New Bedford - QP 34.5 M265 2007

Title:The anatomy lesson
Personal Author:Roth, Philip.

Access: :Located @ BCC Fall River - PS 3568 O855 A8 1983

Films on Demand

Brain and Nervous System: Your Information Superhighway
This program explores the brain and nervous system, using the analogy of computers and the Internet. Topics discussed include electrical impulses and how nerve messages travel; parts of the brain and their functions; how the brain and spinal cord are protected; the senses; and diseases, drugs, and their effects on the brain and nervous system. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Cambridge Educational Production. Run Time: 31 minutes

Circulatory System: The Plasma Pipeline
This program covers the circulatory system’s important roles in transportation, purification, and regulation. Topics include the structure and function of the heart; the role of blood as a connective tissue; arteries, veins, and the flow of blood; the functions of red blood cells, white blood cells, platelets, and plasma; the lymphatic system; and maintaining a healthy circulatory system. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Cambridge Educational Production. Run Time: 27 minutes

Digestive System: Your Personal Power Plant
This program examines the processes by which the digestive system acts as a power plant for the body by turning food into energy. Topics discussed include the process of energy conversion; the structure and function of the organs of the digestive system; the role of enzymes; and maintaining a healthy digestive system. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Cambridge Educational Production. Run Time: 34 minutes

Muscular System at Work: The Inner Athlete
This program looks at the many roles played by muscle and skin in our everyday lives. Topics include muscles and movement; cardiac, smooth, and skeletal muscle; detailed structure of a skeletal muscle; types of muscle contraction and movement; muscles and posture; homeostasis; and the important roles played by skin, hair, nails, and glands. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Cambridge Educational Production. Run Time: 24 minutes

Respiratory System: Intake and Exhaust
Using the analogy of an automobile’s system of fuel intake and exhaust, this program explores the makeup and functions of the respiratory system. Topics include the processes of respiration; the organs involved in respiration; why cells need oxygen; structure and functions of the lungs; relationship between the brain and the respiratory system; and a detailed look at what’s behind the “simple” act of breathing. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Cambridge Educational Production. Run Time: 19 minutes

Skeletal System: The Infrastructure
This program explores the skeletal system, with an emphasis on its importance in providing structure and support for the body. Topics include how the skeletal and muscular systems work together to enable movement; the relationship between joints and bones; connective tissue; functions of the skeletal system, including support, protection, movement, storage, and blood cell production; and types of bones and joints. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Cambridge Educational Production. Run Time: 27 minutes

TEDTalks: Heribert Watzke—The Brain in Your Gut
Most people don’t know it, but they have about a hundred million functioning neurons in their intestines. This “hidden brain” in the human gut, and the surprising things it makes us think and feel, are the subjects of Heribert Watzke’s intriguing TEDTalk. A veteran researcher from Nestle’s food science lab and an expert on food chemistry, Watzke describes how studying this second brain, as it were, has led him to develop new kinds of food that will satisfy both our bodies and our minds..Run time: 15 minutes

Anatomy: Functional Body Systems
Beneath our skin, numerous complex and beautiful systems sustain life. It can be easy to take those processes for granted, though, because so many of them occur without any conscious effort. Over the course of this program, viewers will discover the hidden wonders of the skeletal, muscular, cardiovascular, respiratory, and nervous systems and how they all work in conjunction with each other to create the amazing machine we call the human body. Very visual, with athletic models, animated cutaways, labeled diagrams, and even cadaver parts. Run Time: 27 minutes

Anatomy for Beginners
Anatomist Gunther von Hagens is world-renowned for his invention of plastination, a method of preserving dead tissue. He is also famous for his Body Worlds exhibits which incorporate sophisticated-and highly controversial-dissections of human bodies. In this astonishing four-part series, von Hagens lays bare the intricacy and beauty of the human design, making it viewable and easily understood across a wide range of settings-from Biology 101 to the most advanced medical courses. Viewer discretion is advised. Contains clinically explicit language and demonstrations. 4-part series, 50 minutes each.

Atlas of Microscopic Anatomy

Atlas of Microscopic Anatomy - A Functional Approach: Companion to Histology and Neuroanatomy: Second Edition
http://www.anatomyatlases.org/MicroscopicAnatomy/MicroscopicAnatomy.shtml

Microscopic Anatomy collage