Skip to main content

HCI 237 - Human Disease, Diagnosis and Treatment : Berube: Journals

Courseguide for HCI 237

What is Ebsco A-Z?

Ebsco A to Z

Ebsco A to Z is a searchable database from Ebsco that allows you to locate journals within the coillection of print and online journals.  It includes journals we have access to within the many databases to which we subscribe. 

For instance,  you can type in the search term "nursing", and the database will provide a list of results with all of the journals with the word "nursing" in its title. 

If you type in a journal we have online access to, Ebsco A to Z is going to direct you to the full text page with a list of what database it is located and the time frame in which coverage is provided: 

(Embargo: ) Your Access: (Embargo: )

Critical Care Nurse


If we do not have online access, Ebsco A to Z is going to let you know we have the title in print.

American Journal of Nursing

ISSN: 0002-936X

If there is no access to a title in which you need for your research, you may place an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for the article title. 

Journals and Magazines

There are many sources in the library where one can locate journals - which contain the articles - required for research.  There is the traditional method of print and microfilm, where you have to go to the library and photocopy or print out the information you need.

We also subscribe to a plethora of on-line databases, which provide access to the full text journal on-lineStudents are able to type in a variety of topics, for instance "nursing, HIPAA, wound care" either separately or together as a string, and the databases searches and finds a multitude of information in the form of articles which can be accessed.  BCC students are able to access the databases from home.

In addition, we have provided links to "open source" journals and articles, which means that the publisher is "allowing" the journal and articles within to be accessed for free.

TITLE

JAMA : the journal of the American Medical Association
Print Holdings - 1985-2005


Anatomy Research International


Health & Social Care in the Community


Journal of Experimental and Clinical Anatomy


Academy of Health Care Management Journal


Articles from DOAJ

Satisfaction with web-based training in an integrated healthcare delivery network: do age, education, computer skills and attitudes matter?
Subjects: Medicine (General), Medicine, Medicine (General), Health Sciences, Special aspects of education, Education, Education, Social Sciences, Medicine (General), Medicine, Medicine (General), Health Sciences, Special aspects of education, Education, Education, Social Sciences, Medicine (General), Medicine, Special aspects of education, Education, Medicine (General), Medicine, Special aspects of education, Education, Medicine (General), Medicine, Special aspects of education, Education
Authors: Harris CM, Jain Anil K, Mehta Neil B, Atreja Ashish, Ishwaran Hemant, Avital Michel, Fishleder Andrew J
Publisher: BioMed Central
Date of publication: 2008 October
Published in: BMC Medical Education, Vol 8, Iss 1, Pp 48(2008)
ISSN(s): 1472-6920
Date added to DOAJ: 2008-11-15
DOI: 10.1186/1472-6920-8-48
Full text: http://www.biomedcentral.com/1472-6920/8/48
Journal Language(s): English
Journal License: CC BY
Country of publication: United Kingdom
Abstract:

Background
Healthcare institutions spend enormous time and effort to train their workforce. Web-based training can potentially streamline this process. However the deployment of web-based training in a large-scale setting with a diverse healthcare workforce has not been evaluated. The aim of this study was to evaluate the satisfaction of healthcare professionals with web-based training and to determine the predictors of such satisfaction including age, education status and computer proficiency.

Methods
Observational, cross-sectional survey of healthcare professionals from six hospital systems in an integrated delivery network. We measured overall satisfaction to web-based training and response to survey items measuring Website Usability, Course Usefulness, Instructional Design Effectiveness, Computer Proficiency and Self-learning Attitude.

Results
A total of 17,891 healthcare professionals completed the web-based training on HIPAA Privacy Rule; and of these, 13,537 completed the survey (response rate 75.6%). Overall course satisfaction was good (median, 4; scale, 1 to 5) with more than 75% of the respondents satisfied with the training (rating 4 or 5) and 65% preferring web-based training over traditional instructor-led training (rating 4 or 5). Multivariable ordinal regression revealed 3 key predictors of satisfaction with web-based training: Instructional Design Effectiveness, Website Usability and Course Usefulness. Demographic predictors such as gender, age and education did not have an effect on satisfaction.

Conclusion
The study shows that web-based training when tailored to learners' background, is perceived as a satisfactory mode of learning by an interdisciplinary group of healthcare professionals, irrespective of age, education level or prior computer experience. Future studies should aim to measure the long-term outcomes of web-based training.

Directory of Open Access Journals

The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

Click on the link to access the database.

Browse the Collection

DOAJ


How do I access from home?...

One of your first duties as a student is to "activate" your BCC Campus card...aka...student ID.  Why?  Well, once activated, the back of your library card, the barcode (22777...) becomes your accessPass to the libraries resources from home, or for that matter wherever you are that has a internet connection and a device to load it.

If you are trying to access books or online books, please type in the barcode from the back of your activated BCC Campus card.  This will ensure remote access.


Most databases are accessible on campus and off campus with a valid BCC Campus card activated at the library. If the barcode on the back of your ID is not working (22777...) please visit the Library at any of the three campuses to activate.

Any questions please email me @ Melanie Johnson.