Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Financial Services: Reference Resources

This guide provides access to information in the financial services related to banking, financial management, real estate, and insurance.

What makes a book a reference book?

                                                                                                                                               

    Reference books are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals and other books that you would refer to when wanting to know a definition of a word or concept, a general overview of a topic, specific information about a certain period of time or event in history, etc.  They are most likely books you would not be reading cover to cover!  We have a number of reference books that can be accessed and read online at all BCC campuses and remotely, and we have print reference books at all three campus libraries as well.  The print reference books cannot be checked out but you can photocopy or scan pages, or use the reference books in the library.

Image credit: www.takdangaralin.com

                                                                                                          

 

Reference E-book Databases

  

 

 

 

The databases noted here contain hundreds of full-text reference books for you to use at all three BCC campuses and remotely!

 

BPL Online Reference Sources

A Boston Public Library ecard will enable you to access the numerous directories and other reference titles from the electronic databases in Business at the BPL .  Below are a few books from the BPL's Gale Virtual Reference database (more titles included in their collection than BCC) that might benefit you when doing research in financial services.

Gale Virtual Reference (96 full text business reference books in this database) includes such titles as:

How do I get into a BPL Database?

 If you see this symbol

Boston Public Library Logo

You will know that the databases is provided through the Boston Public Library.  If you live, work, or go to school in the state of Massachusetts, you are eligible for a Boston Public Library eCard.  Fill out the form below and you will receive your eCard number. 

Just enter your BPL eCard number when prompted every time you access BPL databases.

Selected Reference eBooks - Financial Management

Book cover Encyclopedia of Business & FinanceBook cover QFinance

Selected Reference eBooks - Banking

Selected Reference eBooks - Real Estate and Insurance

Book cover Reader's GuideBook cover West's EncyclopediaBook cover Encyclopedia of Business & FinanceBook cover of Encyclopedia of Urban AmericaBook cover Key Concepts

eBook Collections

Selected print Reference Books

Try Google Books!

    Google books has many full text and limited text books available in banking, financial management, real estate and insurance.  Try typing in banking reference; or insurance encyclopedia; or real estate handbook below.

Google Book Search