Office Administration: Articles & Databases
Finding Articles through the BCC Libraries
BCC Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate magazine, newspaper, trade, and scholarly journal articles. We also have databases that offer streaming videos and ebooks.
Boston Public Library (BPL) Access
If you live, work, or go to school in Massachusetts, you can have access to all of the remotely accessable electronic databases at the Boston Public Library. These added resources are available via an ecard that you can obtain by registering at the Boston Public Library website or following the instructions that we have at our "Online Reference Databases" page for getting an ecard from the BPL.
Icon Legend
You may see the following icons on databases, journals, or websites.
 |
Boston Public Library Resource |
 |
Peer Reviewed |
 |
US Government Publication |
Try Google Scholar
Online Databases
- AtoZ DatabasesAtoZdatabases is the Premier Job Search, Reference & Mailing List Database including 30 million business & executive profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!
- Business & IndustryBusiness & Industry is a broad-based business information database that focuses on facts, figures, events and market information about companies, industries, products and markets. It covers all industries and is international in scope. B&I draws content from over 1,800 trade and industry publications, regional, national and international newspapers, business dailies and newsletters.
- Business & Management PracticesBusiness & Management Practices content focuses on practical approaches to management processes and methods. It provides real-world know-how about business planning, decision making, how businesses adopt and implement new technologies and techniques, and plan for change or expansion. BaMP focuses on real-life applications, case studies, and explicit "how-to" guidelines. BaMP offers highly-focused coverage from more than 300 current professional and trade journals containing information relevant to the fields of management, planning, production, finance, marketing, information technology and human resources; as well as an additional 1,000+ more general business journals and newspapers .
- Business OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowBusiness OneFile contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications, which are updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
What are Boolean Operators?
Boolean operators (and, or, not) can be used when searching in most databases. They can be very, very helpful in narrowing down your search results! Please watch the short video below to see how they can be used.
Newspaper Databases
- LexisNexis NewsFull text news database of articles from hundreds of regional, national, and world newspapers; more than 400 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters. Also provides full text transcripts from television and radio news shows as well as political transcripts. (The Providence Journal newspaper is indexed here with full text articles from 1994 to the present.)
- New York Times NewspaperSearch the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1985).
- ProQuest News & NewspapersProvides full text coverage for the following newspapers:
Historical Boston Globe (1872 – 1923)
Historical New York Times (1851 – 2003)
Boston Globe; Boston, Mass. (1980 – current)
Wall Street Journal (1984 – current)