Culinary Arts: Articles & Databases
Finding Articles through the BCC Libraries
BCC Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate magazine, newspaper, trade, and scholarly journal articles. We also have databases that offer streaming videos and ebooks.
Icon Legend
You may see the following icons on databases, journals, or websites.
 |
Boston Public Library Resource |
 |
Peer Reviewed |
 |
US Government Publication |
Boston Public Library (BPL) Access
If you live, work, or go to school in Massachusetts, you can have access to all of the remotely accessable electronic databases at the Boston Public Library. These added resources are available via an ecard that you can obtain by registering at the Boston Public Library website or following the instructions that we have at our "Online Reference Databases" page for getting an ecard from the BPL.
The BPL has a number of resources in the field of entrepreneurship and small business, from full text reference ebooks to magazine, journal and newspaper articles. These e-resources can supplement ours here at BCC...and they are free to use!
What are Boolean Operators?
Boolean operators (and, or, not) can be used when searching in most databases. They can be very, very helpful in narrowing down your search results! Please watch the short video below to see how they can be used.
Recommended Databases for Culinary Arts
- Business OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowBusiness OneFile contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications, which are updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
- Culinary Arts OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowThe Culinary Arts collection includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
- Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture CollectionProvides journal articles and book chapters focused specifically on "key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture....This collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies."
- Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
- Health & Medicine (Gale) This link opens in a new windowThis multi-source database integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books. Most of these sources provide the full text of the article/chapter. Find articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. Coverage: 1980 – present.
- U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new windowAn engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- Vocations and Careers OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowFinding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones. Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
- World History In Context This link opens in a new windowAn engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- World History In Context This link opens in a new windowAn engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Newspaper Databases
- LexisNexis NewsFull text news database of articles from hundreds of regional, national, and world newspapers; more than 400 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters. Also provides full text transcripts from television and radio news shows as well as political transcripts. (The Providence Journal newspaper is indexed here with full text articles from 1994 to the present.)
- New York Times NewspaperSearch the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1985).
- ProQuest News & NewspapersProvides full text coverage for the following newspapers:
Historical Boston Globe (1872 – 1923)
Historical New York Times (1851 – 2003)
Boston Globe; Boston, Mass. (1980 – current)
Wall Street Journal (1984 – current)