Leisure Services Management: Tourism & Eco/Geo Tourism Reference
What makes a book a reference book?
Reference books are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals and other books that you would refer to when wanting to know a definition of a word or concept, a general overview of a topic, specific information about a certain period of time or event in history, etc. They are most likely books you would not be reading cover to cover! We have a number of reference books that can be accessed and read online at all BCC campuses and remotely, and we have print reference books at all three campus libraries as well. The print reference books cannot be checked out but you can photocopy or scan pages, or use the reference books in the library.
Image credit: www.takdangaralin.com
Selected Reference E-Books
Environmental Encyclopedia by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780787654863Publication Date: 2002-11-01Consisting of nearly 1,300 signed articles and term definitions, the 3rd edition of the award-winning "Environmental Encyclopedia provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis and suggests solutions whenever possible.
Encyclopedia of SociologyCall Number: ebookISBN: 9780028648538Publication Date: 2000-11-16Winner of the 1993 Dartmouth Medal, this classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.
Encyclopedia of Food and CultureCall Number: eBookPublication Date: 2002A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Entries include tourism, nutrition, and leisurely sports.
Gale Encyclopedia of Science by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781414428772Publication Date: 2007-10-09Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Entries include ecotourism.
Print Reference Resources for Eco/Geo Tourism
Encyclopedia of Bioethics by Call Number: REF QH332 E52 2004 V.1-4ISBN: 9780028659169Publication Date: 2004-02-01The revolutionary advances in biotechnology and healthcare are so pervasive that no one can avoid debating the ethical questions they raise. Bioethics is a reflection on the moral significance of nature and human nature, and on the development and application of biomedical technologies consistent with that significance.
Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary by Call Number: REF GT 3925 H64 2010ISBN: 9780780809949Publication Date: 2009-12-29A comprehensive dictionary that describes more than 3,000 holidays and festivals celebrated around the world. Features both secular and religious events from many different cultures, countries, and ethnic groups. Includes contact information for events; multiple appendices with background information on world holidays; extensive bibliography; multiple indexes.
