Leisure Services Management: Articles & Databases
Finding Articles through BCC Libraries
BCC Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate magazine, newspaper, trade, and scholarly journal articles. We also have databases that offer streaming videos and ebooks.
Boston Public Library (BPL) Access
If you live, work, or go to school in Massachusetts, you can have access to all of the remotely accessable electronic databases at the Boston Public Library. These added resources are available via an ecard that you can obtain by registering at the Boston Public Library website or following the instructions that we have at our "Online Reference Databases" page for getting an ecard from the BPL.
The BPL has a number of resources in the field of Sports Management and Tourism, from full text reference ebooks to magazine, journal and newspaper articles. These e-resources can supplement ours here at BCC...and they are free to use!
Icon Legend
You may see the following icons on databases, journals, or websites.
 |
Boston Public Library Resource |
 |
Peer Reviewed |
 |
US Government Publication |
Try Google Scholar
Online Databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
- Business OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowBusiness OneFile contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications, which are updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
- Hospitality & Tourism OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowWith current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.
- Sports Temples of BostonThe Boston Public Library has assembled images of the greatest sports battlegrounds in Boston. These images span 100 years from 1872 through 1972. These "Sports Temples" are buildings with rich histories and have become consecrated ground in the history of sports in Boston. Some are world famous, others all but forgotten; some are still standing and some have been demolished. But they all, at one time, echoed with the roar of the crowd and bore mute witness to the feats of generations of athletes.
What are Boolean Operators?
Boolean operators (and, or, not) can be used when searching in most databases. They can be very, very helpful in narrowing down your search results! Please watch the short video below to see how they can be used.
Newspaper Databases
- LexisNexis NewsFull text news database of articles from hundreds of regional, national, and world newspapers; more than 400 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters. Also provides full text transcripts from television and radio news shows as well as political transcripts. (The Providence Journal newspaper is indexed here with full text articles from 1994 to the present.)
- New York Times NewspaperSearch the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1985).
- ProQuest News & NewspapersProvides full text coverage for the following newspapers:
Historical Boston Globe (1872 – 1923)
Historical New York Times (1851 – 2003)
Boston Globe; Boston, Mass. (1980 – current)
Wall Street Journal (1984 – current)