Leisure Services Management: Reference Resources
What makes a book a reference book?
Reference books are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals and other books that you would refer to when wanting to know a definition of a word or concept, a general overview of a topic, specific information about a certain period of time or event in history, etc. They are most likely books you would not be reading cover to cover! We have a number of reference books that can be accessed and read online at all BCC campuses and remotely, and we have print reference books at all three campus libraries as well. The print reference books cannot be checked out but you can photocopy or scan pages, or use the reference books in the library.
Image credit: www.takdangaralin.com
Look for reference books in Google Book Search!
Type in the search box: leisure services, tourism, tourist, or sports management.
Reference E-book Databases
The databases noted here contain hundreds of full-text reference books for you to use at all three BCC campuses and remotely!
Selected Reference E-Books
Encyclopedia of Sociology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780028648538Publication Date: 2000Articles covering core issues such as tourism, race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.
Gale Encyclopedia of Science by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781414428772Publication Date: 2007Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Entries include ecotourism.
Environmental Encyclopedia by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780787654863Publication Date: 2002-11-01Consisting of nearly 1,300 signed articles and term definitions, the 3rd edition of the award-winning "Environmental Encyclopedia provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis and suggests solutions whenever possible.
Environmental Encyclopedia by Call Number: REF GE10 E38 2011 V.1-2Publication Date: 2011Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.
