Management
Icon Legend
You may see the following icons on databases, journals, or websites.
|
|
Boston Public Library Resource |
|
|
Peer Reviewed Content |
|
|
United States Government Document or Publication |
Try Google Books!
Google books has many full text and limited text books available in management. Try typing in management reference; or management encyclopedia; or management handbook below.
What is a reference resource?
Reference resources are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals and other books that you would refer to when wanting to know a definition of a word or concept, a general overview of a topic, specific information about a certain period of time or event in history.
Selected Print Reference Books
The Supply Management Handbook by Call Number: HD 39.5 P873 2006ISBN: 0071445137Publication Date: 2006-07-04For more than three decades, The Supply Management Handbook (formerly The Purchasing Handbook) has been vital for purchasing and supply professionals in every field and industry. This latest edition comprehensively updates and revises this classic to encompass the ongoing shift from simple purchasing to a new, more technology-based imperative--identifying and managing supply chain sources and strategies.
Reference E-book Databases
The databases noted here contain hundreds of full-text reference books for you to use at all three BCC campuses and remotely! When accessing remotely, type in the barcode number on the back of your BCC Campus Card when prompted.
Selected Reference E-books from the BPL
Gale Business Insights Handbooks of Innovation Management by Call Number: E-Book (access through Gale Virtual Reference database at BPL)ISBN: 1414499302Publication Date: 2013-06-14Focuses on the topic of technical innovations in business management. Entries examine such topics as: brainstorming; product lifecycle management; portfolio management and optimization; models of innovation; diffusion of innovation; measuring innovation; systems for innovation within a corporation; strategies for innovation management; and more.
A Boston Public Library ecard (explained on the "Home" tab of this guide) will enable you to access the numerous reference titles from the electronic databases in Business at the BPL . Below are a few reference e-books that might benefit you when doing research in management:
A Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice by Call Number: E-Book (access through Gale Virtual Reference database at BPL)ISBN: 0749446315Publication Date: 2006-05-01Provides practical advice on how companies can maximize the effectiveness of the human resource management function and ensure that it makes a major contribution to organizational success. This comprehensive handbook is also essential reading for human resource management students at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels.
How to Be an Even Better Manager by Call Number: E-Book (access through Gale Virtual Reference database at BPL)ISBN: 074944262XPublication Date: 2004-09-01Practical management guide covering essential skills in 50 specific areas of management.
Selected Reference E-books
Business Plans Handbook by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781414468310Publication Date: 2010-10-27Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans.
Dictionary of Human Resources and Personnel Management by Call Number: ebookISBN: 140810217XPublication Date: 2006-01-01Key terms, covering all aspects of human resources, including recruitment and selection, appraisals, payment systems, dismissals and industrial relations.
The Encyclopedia of Management 6th Ed by Call Number: ebookISBN: 1414406916Publication Date: 2009-03-27Includes essays on 350 topics in management theories and applications, written by academics and business professionals who have first hand knowledge of the particular topic or essay they are contributing, and reviewed and edited by Dr. Marilyn M. Helms. Topics include aggregate planning, benchmarking, logistics, diversification strategy, non-traditional work arrangements, performance measurement, productivity measures, and supply chain management, among many others.
Encyclopedia of the History of American Management by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0826496393Publication Date: 2007-06-01Traces the development of management thinking and major business culture in North America.
