It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference resources are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals and other books that you would refer to when wanting to know a definition of a word or concept, a general overview of a topic, specific information about a certain period of time or event in history.
BPL Online Reference Sources
The Boston Public Library has numerous directories and other reference titles from their electronic databases in Business. Below are a few ebooks from the BPL's Gale Virtual Reference database that we don't have in our database at BCC that might benefit you when doing research in accounting.
Gale Virtual Reference (96 full text business reference books in this database) includes such titles as:
Corporate Disasters: What Went Wrong and Why. c2012
Spans the relationships among business, ethics, and society by including numerous entries that feature broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.
Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime. c2005
Outlines a proven business planning system which will help any organization to develop a lasting business plan. Enables the reader to link company purpose, business goals, strategy, performance targets and an action program into one framework. Based on work with some 80 businesses in Europe, North America and Asia.
How do I get into a BPL Database?
If you see this symbol
You will know that the databases is provided through the Boston Public Library. If you live, work, or go to school in the state of Massachusetts, you are eligible for a Boston Public Library eCard. Fill out the form below and you will receive your eCard number.
Just enter your BPL eCard number when prompted every time you access BPL databases.
A one-stop reference tool covering all aspects of today's world of work. Unique, authoritative, and wide-ranging, it offers practical and strategic advice for anyone doing business today. Written with a team of world-class writers and editors, it is an essential desk reference for managers, MBA and business students and for small business owners worldwide. (If you want to look at the index to this book, after clicking the link above, select the "Headings" tab).
Guide to the essential terms of modern business for students, professionals and business managers. Covers all the main areas of business theory and practice: marketing, production, finance, personnel, business policy and international business. Comprehensive coverage of everyday business terms such as cash flow and patent, etc.
Covers more than 6,000 terms relating to accounting, from company tax liability, cash flow systems, auditing and financial reports to personal finance, pensions and investments. Terms explained in clear, simple English with examples and quotations from journals showing words used in context. Quick, handy reference - ideal for students.
Includes best practice and thought leadership articles, as well as practical guides and solutions to daily financial challenges. In the "Essays" "Checklist" and "Dictionary" sections there are a number of articles and entries on credit management. c2009
Try Google Books!
Type in the search box: accounting reference
Reference E-book Databases
The databases noted here contain hundreds of full-text reference books for you to use at all three BCC campuses and remotely!
Full text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
Finding E-Books Using the Gale Virtual Reference Libary (GVRL) database: 1
Finding E-Books Using the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVLR) database: 2
Finding E-Books Using the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) database: 3