Skip to main content

Entrepreneurship/Small Business: Reference Resources

This guide presents research information on entrepreneurship and running a small business.

What makes a book a reference book?

                                                                                                                                               

    Reference books are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals and other books that you would refer to when wanting to know a definition of a word or concept, a general overview of a topic, specific information about a certain period of time or event in history, etc.  They are most likely books you would not be reading cover to cover!  We have a number of reference books that can be accessed and read online at all BCC campuses and remotely, and we have print reference books at all three campus libraries as well.  The print reference books cannot be checked out but you can photocopy or scan pages, or use the reference books in the library.

Image credit: www.takdangaralin.com

                                                                                                          

 

BPL Online Reference Sources

A Boston Public Library ecard (explained on the "Home" tab of this guide) will enable you to access the numerous directories and other reference titles from the electronic databases in Business at the BPL .  Below are a few books from the BPL's Gale Virtual Reference database (more titles included in their collection than BCC) that might benefit you when doing research in entrepreneurship and/or small business.

Gale Virtual Reference (96 full text business reference books in this database) includes such titles as:

Look for reference books in Google Book Search!

Type in the search box: entrepreneurship reference  or "small business" reference

Google Book Search

Reference E-book Databases

    The databases noted here contain hundreds of full-text reference books for you to use at all three BCC campuses and remotely!

Selected Reference E-Books

Print Reference Sources