Mathematics
Interlibrary Loan
Books not available through the BCC Libraries can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) , a service free of charge to all current BCC students, faculty, and staff!
Find books from other libraries
- WorldCat
WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries throughout the state and around the world! Use WorldCat to look beyond the collections found in the HELM and Ebrary catalogs.
Bristol LLC Search
- A-Z List of DatabasesThe complete list of databases we offer for finding research resources. You need your 900 number to access these databases from home. List can be sorted alphabetically, by subject, and by content type.
- HELM Course Reserve CatalogCourse Reserve provides textbooks, books, and other materials that support the instructional requirements of specific courses. Many faculty members choose to place material on reserve in order to ensure that all students in the class have access to it. Physical course reserves, such as books and DVDs, are located at each campus at the circulation desk of the Library Learning Commons. This links to the HELM catalog search for Course Reserve materials in the Bristol LLC.
- Commonwealth CatalogCan't find what you are looking for in our system? With access to millions of titles, the Commonwealth Catalog extends your library’s reach to all participating libraries throughout Massachusetts, with convenient pick-up at your local library.
Choose HELM-BCC : Bristol Community College LRC.
Login in with 22777 plus your 900# (or the barcode on the back of your student ID) and PIN (typically last 4 digits telephone number).
- Interlibrary Loan - ILLIf an item is unavailable through the Library Learning Commons HELM Online Catalog OR the Commonwealth Catalog, this services allows you to borrow books or receive copies of documents that are owned by libraries outside our lending area.
- Journal Title Look-UpSearch our physical and database journals by title.
How do I locate a book on the shelf at BCC Libraries?
While it is certainly convenient to search the catalog and have books sent to your local library for pick up, browsing the collections of a library can be very productive; often revealing sources as good as - if not better - than what you initially found in the catalog! Below is the shelf range for books on the subject of mathematics and related topics and their approximate location on the shelf as identified by the Library of Congress Classification System. If you need help finding your way around the library 'stacks,' ask any library staff member!
QA Mathematics
- 21-41............History of math & mathematicians
- 39.2-43...........Precalculus
- 93-99.........Mathematical recreations (puzzles, unsolved problems)
- 101-145..........Arithmetic & basic math
- 150-297...........Algebra
- 171-188...........Linear Algebra
- 273-295...........Probabilities & statistics
- 297-299...........Numerical analysis
- 303-316.........Calculus
- 371-387...........Differential equations
- 401-427.........Mathematical physics & engineering
- 440-699.........Geometry, topology, & fractals
- 531-538.........Trigonometry
Selected List of Books from our Print Collection
Five More Golden Rules by Call Number: QA 93 C383 2000ISBN: 0471322334Publication Date: 2000-03-03"Casti is one of the great science writers." -San Francisco Examiner
An Invitation to Discrete Mathematics by Call Number: QA 39.3 M427 2009ISBN: 0198570422Publication Date: 2008-12-15This book is a clear and self-contained introduction to discrete mathematics.
Schaum's Outline of College Mathematics by Call Number: QA 37.2 A948 2003ISBN: 0071402276Publication Date: 2003-04-16
Why Do Buses Come in Threes? by Call Number: QA 93 E18 1998ISBN: 0471347566Publication Date: 1999-04-12Why is it better to buy a lottery ticket on a Friday? Is bad luck just chance, or can it be explained? Is it possible to win every time without cheating?
A Beginner's Guide to Finite Mathematics by Call Number: QA39.3 .W36 2004ISBN: 0817642706Publication Date: 2003-11-06Written in a concise fashion for undergraduates at the freshman/sophomore level, this beginner's guide to finite math covers all the fundamentals and has an applied orientation.
The Only Math Book You'll Ever Need by Call Number: QA 39.2 K63 1994ISBN: 0816027676Publication Date: 1993-09-01"You may be one of the many who are in the dark when it comes to applying math to practical problem solving. The Only Math Book You'll Ever Need will show you - step by step - how to do the math required to figure out a tip, determine your mortgage, compare investment alternatives, and much, much more."
Life by the Numbers by Call Number: QA 93 D458 1998ISBN: 0471240443Publication Date: 1998-03-24Written in a conversational style with no mathematical equations, this text explains the role of maths in areas such as movie special effects, sports, space exploration, ocean floor mapping and computer technologies.
E-books from our Ebrary Collection
Mathematics for the Imagination by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780191647413Publication Date: 2002-01-01Mathematics for the Imagination provides an accessible and entertaining investigation into mathematical problems in the world around us.
Keeping It R.E.A.L. : Research Experiences for All Learners by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780883859612Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Alternative Forms of Knowing (in) Mathematics by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789460919213Publication Date: 2012-12-28Starting from the position that mathematics is a human construction, implying that it cannot be separated from its historical, cultural, social, and political contexts, the purpose of these lectures was to provide a public intellectual space to interrogate conceptions of mathematics and mathematics education, particularly by looking at mathematical practices that are not considered relevant to mainstream mathematics education.
Rediscovering Mathematics : You Do the Math by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780883859124Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Math Got You Anxious?
You're not imagining it: math anxiety is real AND you can wrangle it and keep it under control!
Overcoming Math Anxiety Revised and Expanded by Call Number: QA 11 T67 1995ISBN: 0393313077Publication Date: 1995-08-17Sheila Tobias said it first: mathematics avoidance is not a failure of intellect, but a failure of nerve.
