Computer Programming
Web Links
- Ada Information ClearinghouseSupported by the Ada Resource Association, AdaIC contains information about the Ada programming language including compilers & conformance, news & events, projects & usage, a resource library, education & training, standards & guidelines, products & vendors, and jobs.
- C# StationC# Station is a gateway to resources for programming on Microsoft's .NET platform. Access is provided to articles, recommended books, sample book chapters, discussion forums, documentation, downloads, events and conferences, links to other C# sites, source code and example applications, software tools, and an extensive tutorial.
- Computer Aided Instruction ProjectTutorials or lecture notes are furnished for Java, MIPS assembly language, vector algebra for computer graphics, finite-state automata, and bioinformatics.
- Cplusplus ResourcesCplusplus Resources contains a bounty of resources for the C++ programming language. It includes basic and advanced resources like technical documents, source code, standard libraries, and discussion forums.
- Cprogramming.comThis site contains resources for learning the C and C++ programming languages. There are several tutorials.
- Designing and Building Parallel ProgramsThis is the online version of the Addison-Wesley text Designing and Building Parallel Programs by Ian Foster. The site integrates the contents of the book with a collection of public domain parallel software tools and a set of links to other information on parallel and distributed computing.
- Extreme Programming: A Gentle IntroductionExtreme programming is a method of software development that maximizes programming efficiency. This site provides a thorough overview of the techniques, beginning with a general introduction, followed by specific rules and guidelines.
- Fortran LibraryThe Fortran Library contains a collection of general purpose Fortran 90 routines that can be used to simplify the development of programs with a batch-style input/output interface. Most of the routines can be used to perform standard non-numeric coding tasks.
- Free Online Resources for Microsoft .NET DevelopersAimed at beginners, this site contains resources for learning programming concepts in the Microsoft .NET Framework. Included are tutorials and lessons covering VB.NET, C#, ASP.NET, Ajax, and the .NET Framework. There are worked examples with source code and FAQs.
- A Gentle Introduction to HaskellThe goal of this tutorial is to provide an introduction to the Haskell programming language for a programmer who has experience with at least one other functional language.
- Introduction to Object-Oriented Programming Using C++This is self-paced course to learn object-oriented programming. Concepts are presented using the C++ programming language, but the course is not intended to learn C++ in all its details.
- Introduction to Programming Using JavaThis free online textbook uses Java to explain basic programming concepts.
- Java Programming TutorialsThis site contains several beginning, intermediate, and advanced Java and JavaScript tutorials as well as tutorials for C#, XML, and Python. Sample programs and source code are also provided.
- JavaScript PrimerThis primer is an introductory tutorial covering the basics and some advanced features of JavaScript. The site also provides links to JavaScripts and other tutorials.
- MatLab TutorialsMATLAB® is the high-level language and interactive environment used by millions of engineers and scientists worldwide. This site includes tutorials on Matlab.
- Object Oriented Programming TutorialThe purpose of this tutorial is to provide an introduction to object-oriented programming. Although examples are given in Modula-2, C++, and Java, teaching these languages is not the objective. The objective is to teach the basics including objects, classes, and inheritance.
- Pascal ProgrammingThis is an interactive introduction to the Pascal programming language that covers the basics of learning to program, data types, declarations, arrays, functions, records, pointers, enumerated and set types, and file handling.
- Programmers HeavenProgrammers Heaven features links to programming-related Web sites as well as development tools, utilities, source code, and compilers and interpreters. Access is also provided to technology news headlines, summaries, articles, and the 50 most popular links and downloads. The site can be browsed by languages, platforms, applications, and Web development; and it is fully searchable.
- Python Language WebsiteThis site contains the official Python source code distribution, binaries, documentation, and conference proceedings.
- Schemers.orgThis is a collection of resources for the Scheme programming language. In addition to an FAQ and a bibiliography, the site includes access to information about textbooks and other documents, standards, tutorials, educational resources, implementations, libraries, employment, and events.
- The Source for JavaTM TechnologyFrom Sun Microsystems, the developers of the Java programming language, this site is the source for Java documentation, applets, servlets, plug-ins, and other resources. It also contains news, tutorials, case studies, and live discussion forums.
- SQL Interpreter and TutorialThis site contains an introductory SQL (structured query language) tutorial and a means to practice with an online SQL interpreter. There is also a link to an advanced SQL tutorial.
- Structure and Interpretation of Computer ProgramsThis site contains the full text of the MIT Press book Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs by Abelson, Sussman, and Sussman. Also included are programming assignments, source code, the instructor's manual, and errata.
Code Search Engines
- KrugleKrugle is very impressive as a code search tool, it adds a touch of social aspect and allows searching for projects and tech pages as well as just code. Added to a large list of languages to search from and more filter options and you get an amazingly useful tool.
- KodersThe Koders about page claims the site is the leader in code search. A neat interface on the main page offers quick language and license search options on another long list choices.
- SearchCodeSearchCode sifts through 16 billion lines of open source code from code repositories like GitHub, BitBucket, CodePlex, SourceForge, Fedora and more. The code and documentation search engine is maintained by a single developer. You can use filters like file extensions, specific repo name and URL, regular expressions, and special characters. Specific examples and documentation search support is listed on the Examples page.
- NerdyDatasearches for HTML markup, JavaScript code, or CSS style code snippets.
Sandboxes
- JS BinThis open source sandbox tool by developer Remy Sharp is an excellent JavaScript/HTML code-testing tool.
- JS FiddleJS Fiddle is a free sandbox tool for HTML, CSS and JS that has a wonderful set of features, like the ability to reference popular JS libraries/frameworks like jQuery, YUI and MooTools and an Ajax-request-testing functionality for simulating asynchronous calls for your code. There’s a command for running JSLint that can check your JavaScript for code quality and the "Tidy Up" code-formatting command for re-indenting your code.
- CSS DeskThis online CSS/HTML sandbox tool is a slick way of testing snippets of your style sheet and markup. You have the option of changing the background of the preview pane, which is useful when you have a hard time scoping out the outcome of your CSS/HTML work due to low foreground/background contrast or for seeing how your work looks on different types of backgrounds. You can also maximize the screen viewing size of the preview pane by hiding the HTML and CSS code panes.
- Java script Sandboxtool for testing your JavaScript code snippets
- 10 Excellent Tools for Testing Your Site on Mobile DevicesA review of the top sites that will make sure that your website renders appropriately on the Mobile Web.
Program Tutorials
- Animations to Assist Learning Some Key Computer Science Topics (Virginia Tech)
"The purpose of the work presented herein is to provide multimedia course material with animations to assist learning some key Computer Science topics on the World Wide Web. The work is presented in eight learning modules: Algorithms, Artificial Intelligence, Data Structures, Machine Architecture, Number Systems, Operating Systems, Programming Languages, and Software Engineering. Each module consists of a set of lessons with animations and interactive components including review questions."
- Google Code University
This site provides sample course content and tutorials for Computer Science (CS) students and educators on current computing technologies and paradigms.
- Java SE (Standard Edition)
From Oracle. Developer guides and tutorials.
- The Perl Directory
Perl books, documentation, modules..
- Web Design and Applications - at W3
HTML, CSS, SVG, Ajax, and other technologies for Web Applications (“WebApps”) - standards, tutorials, cheat sheets, and more.
- W3Schools
Plenty of information but note the footnote on the page: "Examples might be simplified to improve reading and basic understanding. Tutorials, references, and examples are constantly reviewed to avoid errors, but we cannot warrant full correctness of all content.While using this site, you agree to have read and accepted our terms of use and privacy policy."
- Last Updated: Apr 9, 2024 9:13 AM
- URL: https://libguides.bristolcc.edu/CompProg
- Print Page