What is a reference resource?
Reference resources are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals and other books that you would refer to when wanting to know a definition of a word or concept, a general overview of a topic, specific information about a certain period of time or event in history.
eReference Books for Portuguese
 |
-
Portuguese Language and LiteraturePortugal, officially called the Portuguese Republic, is the westernmost country of continental Europe. It is bordered on the east and north by Spain, with which it shares the Iberian Peninsula, and on the west and south by the Atlantic Ocean. It is about the size of Ohio, having an area of 35,553 square miles (92,082 square kilometers), and measuring 360 miles at its longest point and 140 miles at its widest. Portugal also includes the Azores (Açores) and the Madeira Islands in the North Atlantic Ocean and Macao, a tiny territory on the southern coast of China.
-
Collins Portuguese DictionaryThis dictionary is designed for intermediate learners of Portuguese, whether at school, at home, or for business. It is the ideal text for anyone who needs easy access to a comprehensive and user-friendly dictionary.
eReference Resources
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
-
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowFull text database indexing over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Articles range from a paragraph to several pages. Learn about related topics by clicking on the links provided throughout the article.
-
Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowFull text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.
Print Reference Sources
-
Collins English-Portugese, Portugues-Ingles Dictionary by Call Number: REF PC 5333 W45 2001ISBN: 0004724194Publication Date: 2001-01-01With over 110,000 translations, the Collins Portuguese Dictionary provides extensive coverage of contemporary Portuguese including business and computing terminology within a new typographical layout. -
Luso-American Literature by Call Number: PN 6014 L85 2011ISBN: 0813550572Publication Date: 2011-07-30Portuguese and Cape Verdean immigrants have had a significant presence in North America since the nineteenth century.
