Web Design & Media Arts: Reference Resources
This guide provides starting points for research in Web Design & Media Arts.
What is a reference resource?
Reference resources are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals and other books that you would refer to when wanting to know a definition of a word or concept, a general overview of a topic, specific information about a certain period of time or event in history.
eReference Books & Entries for Web Design & Media Arts
 |
- Computer Graphics CompanionThe Computer Graphics Companion offers a comprehensive collection of articles written by selected specialists and spanning a wide range of topics and applications in computer graphics.
- Web DesignWeb Wizards is being formed as a partnership that will be owned and operated by brothers Frank and Mike Jestar. The company will be a home—based business in St. Clair Shores, Michigan, a middle—class suburb of Detroit, with many small businesses and no shortage of home—based businesses.
- Web DesignerA web designer puts information on the World Wide Web in the form of web pages for use by individuals and businesses. Web designers use the principles that a graphic artist would use to create their artwork. The difference, however, is that a web designer's tool is a computer, and their "paints" are computer software.
- Web Site DesignWeb site design is the process of creating a site on the Internet. Internet users view Web sites with a software program known as a Web browser. Each Web site has a unique address usually referred to as a unique resource locator or URL. Web sites can consist of text, graphics, audio files, video files, and animation. For many businesses, a Web site can be a virtual "storefront" that enables the company to sell products and services to customers and clients around the world at a relatively small price.
eReference Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowFull text database indexing over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Articles range from a paragraph to several pages. Learn about related topics by clicking on the links provided throughout the article.
- Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowFull text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.
Print Reference Sources
Concise Encyclopedia of Computer Science by Call Number: REF QA 76.15 C654 2004ISBN: 0470090952Publication Date: 2004
New Dictionary of the History of IdeasCall Number: REF CB 9 N49 2005 V.1ISBN: 0684313774Publication Date: 2004-12-03Experts examine major developments in intellectual history during the past 30 years.
Universal Command Guide by Call Number: REF QA 76.76 O63 U5 2002ISBN: 0764548336Publication Date: 2002-04-29The ultimate operating system reference: Over 8,000 commands and 57,000 command options from every major operating system--Windows. UNIX. Linux. NetWare. Macintosh. DOS.
