Healthcare Information: Reference Resources

One of your first duties as a student is to "activate" your Bristol Community College Campus card...aka...student ID.  Why?  Well, once activated, the back of your library card, the barcode (22777...) becomes your accessPass to the libraries resources from home, or for that matter wherever you are that has a internet connection and a device to load it.

If you are trying to access books or online books, please type in the barcode from the back of your activated Bristol Community College Campus card/Student ID.  This will ensure remote access.

BCC Libraries provide access to a collection of eBooks specific for Allied Health topics. Below is a brief description of the selected titles and instructions on how to access. Please visit the database Credo Reference, Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library or eBook Central for further eBooks on your topic.

To access:

BiblioBoard Library
Provides access to public domain, small press and backlist content with additional functionality that enables libraries to create and publish their own content. BiblioBoard Content is unlimited simultaneous use and follows Readers First principles.

eBook Central
Choose from 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers on one platform. ProQuest Ebook Central offers titles from hundreds of trusted publishers on one modern, intuitive platform. Its mobile-optimized design lets researchers get “anytime access” to the content they need – from a single chapter to an entire book.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Collections of eBooks available via EBSCOhost.

Credo Reference
Full text database of articles from hundreds of reference books covering all major topics; includes audio files, images, and maps.

Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library)
Full text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more..

The databases are accessible on campus and off campus with a valid BCC Campus card activated at the library. If the barcode on the back of your ID is not working (22777...) please visit the Library & Learning Commons at any of the four campus locations to activate.

Any questions please email me @ Melanie Johnson.

The reference collection is an excellent place to begin your research if you want to find:

• a summary of a topic
• background information on a topic
• a list of recommended resources
• factual information

When you find a reference book:

• Scan the table of contents to see how it is organized.
• Note its publication date to determine currency of the information.
• Use the index to locate your topic within the book.

Scroll down for a list of some key resources in the field of Healthcare Information Technology, HIM Professional. You can click on this link to perform a search in HELM using the topic Health Information Technology.

Black's medical dictionary, 43rd edition [electronic resource]
A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists. 

BCC students, faculty, and staff: Click here to Access this Resource.

Health information management technology : an applied approach / Merida L. Johns, editor.
Edition:3rd ed.
General Note:CD-Rom includes: Student workbook.

Subject Term:
Medical informatics.
Information resources management.

ISBN: 9781584262596
1584262591

Publication Information: Chicago, Ill. : American Health Information Management Association, c2011.
Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River - R 858 H43 2011

Health information management technology : an applied approach / Nanette B. Sayles, editor.
Edition: 4th ed.
Contents:
Introduction to the HIM profession -- Purpose and function of the health record -- Content and structure of the health record -- Healthcare data sets and standards -- Clinical vocabularies and classification systems -- Reimbursement methodologies -- Health information functions -- Secondary data sources -- Healthcare statistics and productivity -- Clinical quality performance improvement and management -- Healthcare delivery systems -- Ethical issues in health information management -- Appendix A: ethical standards for Clinical Documentation Improvement (CDI) professionals -- Legal issues in health information -- Fundamentals of electronic information systems -- Introduction to electronic health information systems -- Electronic health records -- Information security -- Principles of organization and work planning -- Envisioning the future of the health information management profession -- Sample HIM position descriptions -- Sample notice of health information practices -- Check your understanding key.

Subject Term:
Medical informatics.
Information resources management.

ISBN: 1584263520
9781584263524

Publication Information:
Chicago, Ill. : American Health Information Management Association, c2013.
Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River - R 858 S29 2013