Graphic Design: Reference Resources
This guide provides starting points for research in Graphic Design.
eReference Books for Graphic Design
 |
 |
- Corporate Logos by Paul RandPaul Rand (1914–1996) was one of the most influential figures in American graphic design. He developed a unique American graphic style characterized by simplicity, humor, and taste.
- The End of Print: The Graphic Design of David CarsonMany reviewers hailed David Carson in the 1980s for the experimental typography and bold layouts he introduced in Transworld Skateboarding and Surf magazines. Yet the design community was mainly shocked in 1990 by the first issue of the surf magazine, Beach Culture.
- The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Design Since 1900This comprehensive guide embraces all aspects of modern design: graphics, products, interiors, furniture and industrial and architectural design.
- The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and DesignersA comprehensive guide to international developments in graphic design. From pre-industrial printing presses and medieval typography to computer graphics and avant-garde stylistic advances, a wealth of entries elucidate technical terms and detail movements, media, advertising, corporate identity, posters, packaging, and magazine and book design, placing graphic design in the wider context of the history of fine art and illustration.
eReference Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowFull text database indexing over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Articles range from a paragraph to several pages. Learn about related topics by clicking on the links provided throughout the article.
- Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowFull text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.