Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Massage Therapy: Reference Resources

An introduction to the services and resources for Massage Therapy students at Bristol Community College.

How do I access from home?...

One of your first duties as a student is to "activate" your accessBCC card...aka...student ID.  Why?  Well, once activated, the back of your library card, the barcode (22777...) becomes your accessPass to the libraries resources from home, or for that matter wherever you are that has a internet connection and a device to load it.

If you are trying to access books or online books, please type in the barcode from the back of your activated accessBCC card.  This will ensure remote access.


BCC Libraries provides access to a collection of ebooks specific for Massage Therapy topics. Below is a brief description of the selected titles and instructions on how to access. Please visit the database Credo Reference, ebrary or Gale Virtual Library for further ebooks on your topic.

To access:

Credo Reference
Full text database of articles from hundreds of reference books covering all major topics; includes audio files, images, and maps.Credo Reference or Gale Virtual Library

ebrary
The collection for Community and Career Colleges contains more than 19,500 titles.  Subject areas include: Nursing and Allied Health, Computer Technologies and Business, Law Enforcement, Criminal Law, and Criminology, Culinary Arts, Industrial Arts and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full text database providing 175 subject specific encyclopedias, reference sets, and dictionaries. Subjects include history, business, the arts, literature, medicine, science, the nation and world, social sciences, plus many other topics.

The databases are accessible on campus and off campus with a valid AccessBCC ID activated at the library. If the barcode on the back of your ID is not working (22777...) please visit the Library at any of the three campuses to activate.

Reference Books and More...

The reference collection is an excellent place to begin your research if you want to find:

  • a summary of a topic
  • background information on a topic
  • a list of recommended resources
  • factual information

When you find a reference book:

  • Scan the table of contents to see how it is organized.
  • Note its publication date to determine currency of the information.
  • Use the index to locate your topic within the book.

Scroll down for a list of some key resources in the field of Massage Therapy. You can click on this link to perform a search in SAILS using the topic Massage Therapy, Acupressure, Aromatherapy, and Complementary.


Massage therapy : principles and practice / Susan G. Salvo.
Edition: 3rd ed.

Contents:
Unit 1. Surveying the territory: history, standards, boundaries, equipment, and environment. A historical perspective of massage / H. Micheal Tarver -- The therapeutic relationship -- Tools of the trade and the massage environment -- Unit 2. Benefits, contraindications, screening, technique, and special considerations for the massage practitioner. Infection control, safety, health, and hygiene -- Massage physiology: research, effects, indications, contraindications, and endangerment sites -- The science of body and table mechanics -- Swedish massage movements and Swedish gynmastics -- Assessment and planning -- Pregnancy and infant massage / Susan g. Salvo, Maria Mathias, Wayne Mathias -- Adaptive massage -- Unit 3. Anatomy and physiology for the massage therapist. Introduction to the human body: cells, tissues, and the body compass -- Integumentary system -- Skeletal system and joint movements.

Skeletal nomenclature -- Muscular system -- Muscular nomenclature and kinesiology -- Nervous system -- Endocrine glands and hormones -- Circulatory system -- Respiratory system -- Digestive system -- Urinary system -- Reproductive system -- Unit. 4. A user's guide to complementary and adjunctive therapies. Hydrotherapy and spa applications -- Foot reflexology -- Clinical massage for sports and rehabilitation / Susan G. Salvo, Michael A. Breaux -- Seated massage / Ralph R. Stephens -- Eastern massage therapies: shiatsu, acupressure, ayurveda, thai massage, and polarity / Diego Sanchez ... [et al.] -- Unit 5. Business practices. The business of massage -- Appendices. Append. A. The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork Code of Ethics -- Append. b. The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork Standards of Practice -- Append. C. Common abbreviations, symbols, prescriptive directions, medical terminology, pathologies, modalities, and findings -- Append. D. Nutrition -- Append. E. Pharmacology.

Subject Term:
Massage therapy.

ISBN:
9781416036524
1416036520

Publication Information: St. Louis, Mo. : Saunders Elsevier, c2007.
Call Number: Bristol CC - New Bedford RM 721 S146 2007


Mosby's massage therapy review / Sandy Fritz.
Edition: 3rd ed.

Subject Term:
Massage therapy -- Examinations, questions, etc.

ISBN:
9780323056137 (pbk.) :
032305613X (pbk.) :

Publication Information: St. Louis, Mo. : Mosby, c2010.
Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River REF RM 721 F755 2010


Deep tissue massage treatment : a handbook of neuromuscular therapy / Enrique Fabian Fernandez.

Subject Term:
Massage therapy.
Connective tissues.

ISBN:0323037348

Publication Information: Elsevier Mosby : St. Louis, c2006.
Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River RM 721 F47 2006


Success! [in] massage therapy : complete review / Jane S. Garofano.
Edition: 4th ed., rev.

Subject Term:
Massage therapy -- Examinations, questions, etc.

ISBN:
9780135072226 (pbk.)
0135072220 (pbk.)

Publication Information: Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Prentice Hall, c2009.
Call Number: Bristol CC - New Bedford RM 721 G34 2009

Destination: Library

Profile Photo
Melanie Johnson
Chat now
Contact:
Serials & Access Services
Includes:
* Circulation Services
* Inter-library Loan
* Course Reserves
* Serials Management
* Division IV Liaison


Bristol Community College
Library & Learning Commons - Building A
777 Elsbree Street
Fall River, MA 02720
508-678-2811 x2458

"Not all those who wander are lost." -- J.R.R. Tolkien