Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Massage Therapy: Books & Ebooks

An introduction to the services and resources for Massage Therapy students at Bristol Community College.

Finding Books

Massachusetts Commonwealth Catalog

With access to millions of titles, the Commonwealth Catalog extends your library’s reach to all participating libraries throughout Massachusetts, with convenient pick-up at your local library.

What you should know about the Commonwealth Catalog:

Start local
Libraries share items across the state, but it’s always faster and more cost effective to check locally first, so if your local library network doesn’t have the item, it’s time to look in the Commonwealth Catalog.

Powerful search 
The Commonwealth Catalog searches all participating libraries in one easy step and allows you to sort your results by material type: books, audiobooks, DVD. Right now eBooks are not a part of the search, but we’re working on it. If you’re looking for eBooks please visit mass.gov/libraries.

Millions of items 
The Commonwealth Catalog gives you access to millions of items from libraries that hold unique collections such as Boston Public Library and UMass Amherst and other academic, special and public libraries.

Convenience 
Once you request an item through the Commonwealth Catalog it usually only takes a few days for your local library to receive it and they’ll notify you so you can stop by your library and pick it up. You’ll also return the item to your local library.

The Commonwealth Catalog is the easiest way to get a book if you can't find it in the SAILS online catalog.

The Commonwealth Catalog allows library users in good standing to:

  • Simultaneously search several library catalogs.
  • Request items that are unavailable at any SAILS Library.
  • Have a total of 10 active requests at any time.

SAILS

The Online Catalog

SAILS, Learning Resources Center's online catalog contains all the books and other materials that the Library purchases. Use it to search for a specific author or title or to compile a bibliography on a specific topic. The Learning Resources Center uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. To find books on a particular subject, use the Keyword search option. Then look at the subjects under which it has been cataloged to find additional items on the subject.

Ebooks

  • Credo Reference  
    Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.

  • ebrary
    The collection for Community and Career Colleges contains more than 19,500 titles.  Subject areas include: Nursing and Allied Health, Computer Technologies and Business, Law Enforcement, Criminal Law, and Criminology, Culinary Arts, Industrial Arts and more.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library 
    Full text database providing 23 subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include contemporary fashion, poets and novelists, film, alternative medicine, popular culture, small business and more. Includes two children’s visual reference books on the U.S. and the world.

Below are some resources that will aid in your research.  They are all e-books, and accessible only online.


Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative MedicineMosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine
is a contemporary, comprehensive glossary of numerous terms and 500 illustrations, along with 24 appendices, useful for any health professional in today's medical field.

The terms and definitions cover the five major areas of complementary and alternative medicine, as outlined by the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine of the National Institutes of Health:
• alternative health care systems;
• mind-body interventions;
• biologically based therapies;
• manipulative and body-based healing methods; and
• energy therapies.


 Book CoverDorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Comprehensive biomedical dictionary that reflects standard and current terminology derived from medicine and related disciplines. Includes images and audio pronunciations.Medicine is ever changing, and its terminology evolves constantly. If you're involved in health care in any way, you need to know the latest medical terms from A to Zz. and what they mean. That's why you need Dorland's! The world's most trusted source on the language of medicine for over 100 years, it delivers more entries and better definitions than any other medical dictionary - so you can master more of the current terminology that you need to know. A wealth of illustrations and audio pronunciations and a remarkably user-friendly format make reference a snap.

Some of the words appearing in the Dictionary are proprietary names (trademarks) even though no reference to this fact is made in the text. The appearance of any name without designation as a trademark is therefore not to be regarded as a representation by the editors or publisher that it is not a trademark or is not the subject of proprietary rights.


                                                    
Trigger Point Therapy for Foot, Ankle, Knee, and Leg Pain : A Self-Treatment Workbook

Contributor:
Deluane, Valerie

Publisher:
New Harbinger Publications

Date Published:
November 2010

LC Subject Headings:
Massage therapy -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Foot -- Diseases -- Chiropractic treatment -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Ankle -- Diseases -- Chiropractic treatment -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Knee -- Diseases -- Chiropractic treatment -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Leg -- Diseases -- Chiropractic treatment -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Pain -- Alternative treatment -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Self-care, Health -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Destination: Library

Profile Photo
Melanie Johnson
Chat now
Contact:
Serials & Access Services
Includes:
* Circulation Services
* Inter-library Loan
* Course Reserves
* Serials Management
* Division IV Liaison


Bristol Community College
Library & Learning Commons - Building A
777 Elsbree Street
Fall River, MA 02720
508-678-2811 x2458

"Not all those who wander are lost." -- J.R.R. Tolkien