Skip to main content

Nursing: Books & Ebooks

An introduction to the services and resources for Nursing students at Bristol Community College.

Commonwealth Catalog : Finding Books

Massachusetts Commonwealth Catalog

commonwealth catalog - search for books, dvds, audiobooks, and more throughout the state

With access to millions of titles, the Commonwealth Catalog extends your library’s reach to all participating libraries throughout Massachusetts, with convenient pick-up at your local library.
What you should know about the Commonwealth Catalog:
Start local

Libraries share items across the state, but it’s always faster and more cost effective to check locally first, so if your local library network doesn’t have the item, it’s time to look in the Commonwealth Catalog.

Powerful search 
The Commonwealth Catalog searches all participating libraries in one easy step and allows you to sort your results by material type: books, audiobooks, DVD. Right now eBooks are not a part of the search, but we’re working on it. If you’re looking for eBooks please visit mass.gov/libraries.

Millions of items 
The Commonwealth Catalog gives you access to millions of items from libraries that hold unique collections such as Boston Public Library and UMass Amherst and other academic, special and public libraries.

Convenience 
Once you request an item through the Commonwealth Catalog it usually only takes a few days for your local library to receive it and they’ll notify you so you can stop by your library and pick it up. You’ll also return the item to your local library.

The Commonwealth Catalog is the easiest way to get a book if you can't find it in the HELM online catalog.


Additional Benefits

The Commonwealth Catalog allows library users in good standing to:

  • Simultaneously search several library catalogs.
  • Request items that are unavailable at any HELM Library.
  • Have a total of 10 active requests at any time.

HELM

logoHELM Online Catalog

The Library & Learning Commons have recently joined HELM.  Founded in 2017, HELM is an association of Massachusetts college libraries in public higher education. HELM libraries are also members of the Fenway Library Organization (FLO), a consortium of academic and special libraries in Massachusetts. FLO provides library support and hosts this catalog.

The Library & Learning Commons encourages users to access the HELM online catalog as it contains all the books and other materials that the Library purchases. Use it to search for a specific author or title or to compile a bibliography on a specific topic.

The Library & Learning Commons uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. To find books on a particular subject, use the Keyword search option. Then look at the subjects under which it has been cataloged to find additional items on the subject.

E-Book Databases

  • Credo Reference
    Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
     
  • eBook Central
    Choose from 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers on one platform. ProQuest Ebook Central offers titles from hundreds of trusted publishers on one modern, intuitive platform. Its mobile-optimized design lets researchers get “anytime access” to the content they need – from a single chapter to an entire book.
     
  • Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library)
    Full text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.

Destination: Library

Melanie Johnson's picture
Melanie Johnson
Chat now
Contact:
Serials & Access Services
Includes:
* Circulation Services
* Inter-library Loan
* Course Reserves
* Serials Management
* Division IV Liaison


Bristol Community College
Library & Learning Commons - Building A
777 Elsbree Street
Fall River, MA 02720
508-678-2811 x2458

"Not all those who wander are lost." -- J.R.R. Tolkien