Skip to main content

Nursing: Reference Resources

An introduction to the services and resources for Nursing students at Bristol Community College.

Resources

Student Resources – Chester A. Moore Elementary

How do I access from home?...

Remote Access

One of your first duties as a student is to "activate" your Bristol Community College Campus card...aka...student ID.  Why?  Well, once activated, the back of your library card, the barcode (22777...) becomes your accessPass to the libraries resources from home, or for that matter wherever you are that has a internet connection and a device to load it.

If you are trying to access books or online books, please type in the barcode from the back of your activated Bristol Community College Campus card/Student ID.  This will ensure remote access.


BCC Libraries provide access to a collection of eBooks specific for Allied Health topics. Below is a brief description of the selected titles and instructions on how to access. Please visit the database Credo Reference, Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library or eBook Central for further eBooks on your topic.

To access:

BiblioBoard Library
Provides access to public domain, small press and backlist content with additional functionality that enables libraries to create and publish their own content. BiblioBoard Content is unlimited simultaneous use and follows Readers First principles.

eBook Central
Choose from 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers on one platform. ProQuest Ebook Central offers titles from hundreds of trusted publishers on one modern, intuitive platform. Its mobile-optimized design lets researchers get “anytime access” to the content they need – from a single chapter to an entire book.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Collections of eBooks available via EBSCOhost.

Credo Reference
Full text database of articles from hundreds of reference books covering all major topics; includes audio files, images, and maps.

Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library)
Full text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more..


The databases are accessible on campus and off campus with a valid BCC Campus card activated at the library. If the barcode on the back of your ID is not working (22777...) please visit the Library & Learning Commons at any of the four campus locations to activate.

Any questions please email me @ Melanie Johnson.

Reference Books and More...

The reference collection is an excellent place to begin your research if you want to find:

  • a summary of a topic
  • background information on a topic
  • a list of recommended resources
  • factual information

When you find a reference book:

  • Scan the table of contents to see how it is organized.
  • Note its publication date to determine currency of the information.
  • Use the index to locate your topic within the book.

Scroll down for a list of some key resources in the field of Nursing. You can click on this link to perform a search in HELM using the topic Nursing.


Handbook of clinical nursing. Medical-surgical nursing
Designed for recently graduated RNs and nurses transitioning to a new clinical area, this extensive clinical reference is the best resource to provide essential information to nurses working on the med-surg unit. Concise and practical entries provide fundamental coverage of the most common clinical problems and issues encountered in nursing practice today. Alphabetized for easy access, each entry includes a definition and description of the clinical problem; etiology; clinical aspects, such as assessment, nursing interventions, management, and implications; and outcomes. Each entry focuses on the role of the nurse throughout the treatment process, and discusses the role of other healthcare providers with a focus on multidisciplinary treatment. Handbook of Clinical Nursing: Medical-Surgical Nursing will be of value to nursing faculty, undergraduate and graduate-level nurses, and nursing students at all levels. Entries from this text have been selected from the larger resource, A Guide to Mastery in Clinical Nursing: The Comprehensive Reference.
Call Number Bristol CC - Fall River Campus - RT 41 H53 2018


Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions.- 10th Edition
Regarded as one of the most respected and widely used health professions references, this all-inclusive dictionary helps you make sense of the complex world of health care. It includes detailed entries that give you the knowledge needed to communicate effectively with colleagues in various disciplines and is an indispensable guide to use throughout your career"--Page 4 of cover.
Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River Campus - REF R 121 M89 2017


Nursing diagnosis handbook : an evidence-based guide to planning care
Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 11th Edition helps practicing nurses and nursing students select appropriate nursing diagnoses and write care plans with ease and confidence. This convenient handbook shows you how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan. Extensively revised and updated with the new 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, it integrates the NIC and NOC taxonomies, evidence-based nursing interventions, and adult, pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, and client/family teaching and discharge planning considerations to guide you in creating unique, individualized care plans. -- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River Campus - RT 48.6 A35 2008

Fall River Campus - RT 48.6 A35 2010
Fall River & New Bedford Campus - RT 48.6 A35 2014
Fall River Campus - Reserve Desk RT 48.6 A35 2017


Sparks & Taylor's nursing diagnosis reference manual
Now fully updated, this reference provides clearly written, authoritative care plan guidelines for all NANDA International (NANDA-I) approved nursing diagnoses. This book is the ideal resource for any clinical setting.
Call Number: New Bedford Campus - REF RT 48.6 S66 2014 9th Ed.

Call Number: Fall River Campus - REF RT 48.6 S66 2011 8th Ed.


Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research [electronic resource]
The fourth edition of this classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.            

BCC students, faculty, and staff: Click here to Access this Resource


Calculation of drug dosages : a work text
Known for its textbook/workbook format, Calculation of Drug Dosages, 10th Edition makes it easy to master the ratio and proportion, formula, and dimensional analysis methods for drug calculation. A basic review of mathematics refreshes your math skills, and plenty of practice problems help you overcome any inexperience or weaknesses you may have. Written by nursing experts Sheila Ogden and Linda Fluharty, this resource helps you calculate drug dosages accurately and with confidence.
Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River - REF RS 57 R33 2016


Calculations and Unit Analysis : Mathematics for Nursing / Cengage Learning (Firm). [electronic resource]
This video helps nurses and trainees improve their understanding of calculation and unit analysis methods. Each calculation is explained in a step-by-step method, using visual examples and narration to shed light on the process.

BCC students, faculty, and staff: Click here to Access this Resource


Taber's cyclopedic medical dictionary / editor, Donald Venes. 23rd Edition.

The 23rd full color edition of Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary has been edited and written to help students of health care, as well as seasoned professionals, master the ever-evolving art and science of caring, and communicate to each other and out patients with clarity and precision.

Call Number: Fall River Campus - REF REF R 121 T33 2017

Call Number: New Bedford Campus - REF REF R 121 T33 2017


Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
First published in 1900, Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary is universally acknowledged as the world's finest medical dictionary. Through all of the remarkable developments that have transformed medicine in this century, Dorland's is the reference which generations of health care professionals have trusted to define the terminology that is germane to their careers.
Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River - REF R 121 D73 2012


Encyclopedia of Nursing Research [electronic resource]
Named a "Choice Outstanding Academic Title" for 2007 and an "AJN Book of the Year", The award-winning Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice. Pithy entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives, and will be a starting point for future content and references. Nurse researchers, educators, students, and all clinical specialties will find the encyclopedia an important introduction to the breadth of nursing research today. New topics include NIH-funded research areas, a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals, addictions care, palliative care, translational science, simulation, trauma care, family-centered care, mild cognitive impairment, active surveillance for cancer care, workplace and empowerment research, nurse engagement, nurse-physician collaboration, CAM and empowerment research, spirituality, synthesis and action research, mixed methods research, systematic review, ethnopharmacology, and more.            


BCC students, faculty, and staff:  Click here to Access this Resource


Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health [electronic resource]
This fully updated third edition of this award-winning title covers topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. The Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.  

BCC students, faculty, and staff: Click here to Access this Resource       


Key Concepts in Nursing [electronic resource]
Provides a much needed guide to the central topics and debates which shape nursing theory, policy and contemporary practice.

BCC students, faculty, and staff: Click here to Access this Resource       


Nursing Leadership  [electronic resource]     
A single comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, Nursing Leadership is the only compendium of nursing terminology in existence. Written by eminent nursing professionals, it provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing, information regarding nine leadership-related topics, and current trends in nurse leadership.This second edition has been expanded to encompass 80 new entries and revisions or updates to all original entries. It provides an extensive overview of current leadership issues including theories, characteristics, and skills required of nurse leaders in today's complex health care system. Highly respected contributors include Claire Fagan, Beverly Malone (NLN CEO), Polly Bednash (AACN CEO), Patricia Benner, and many others. For ease of use this new edition contains both alphabetic and thematic indexes, extensive cross-referencing, and print and web references for each entry.            

BCC students, faculty, and staff: Click here to Access this Resource 


SAGE Key Concepts series: Key Concepts in Palliative Care [electronic resource]
Key Concepts in Palliative Care provides just this in a compact, fifty-concept guide to the field. Taking account of the government's "End of Life Care Strategy", contributors set out the key issues affecting practice across a range of health and social care contexts.      
      
BCC students, faculty, and staff: Click here to Access this Resource 


 

Destination: Library

Melanie Johnson's picture
Melanie Johnson
Chat now
Contact:
Serials & Access Services
Includes:
* Circulation Services
* Inter-library Loan
* Course Reserves
* Serials Management
* Division IV Liaison


Bristol Community College
Library & Learning Commons - Building A
777 Elsbree Street
Fall River, MA 02720
508-678-2811 x2458

"Not all those who wander are lost." -- J.R.R. Tolkien