Marketing
This guide provides information on how to access information in marketing, advertising, credit management and sales.
Icon Legend
You may see the following icons on databases, journals, or websites.
|
|
Boston Public Library Resource |
|
|
Peer Reviewed Content |
|
|
United States Government Document or Publication |
Business Online Databases
Online databases provide a vast amount of resources for you to use in your research! They give you access to journal and magazine articles, newspaper articles, reports, radio and TV transcripts, ebooks and streaming videos. Below are suggested databases where you can find marketing, advertising, sales, and credit managment information.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowWith premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
- Business OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowBusiness OneFile contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications, which are updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowFull text database providing comprehensive coverage of regional business publications. Updated daily, it Includes 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- LexisNexis Business (Dossier - Company, Executive, & Industry)Full text database providing general business, industry and market news; accounting articles and literature; company information, including detailed financial data and SEC filings and reports; and directories of contact and resource information for companies and industries. Search features also permit comparison of companies based on criteria such as sales, income and number of employees.
- LexisNexis Business (Company Profiles)This is part of the LexisNexis Business module and provides access to company information. To access, click on "Search by Content Type" located at top right of red search box and then click "Company Profiles". There are also Advanced Options that let you select the sources you would like searched and a "Build your own Segment Search". This is helpful when you want to narrow your search to something specific
Selected General Databases to use for Marketing Research
- LexisNexis NewsFull text news database of articles from hundreds of regional, national, and world newspapers; more than 400 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters. Also provides full text transcripts from television and radio news shows as well as political transcripts. (The Providence Journal newspaper is indexed here with full text articles from 1994 to the present.)
- ProQuest News & NewspapersProvides full text coverage for the following newspapers:
Historical Boston Globe (1872 – 1923)
Historical New York Times (1851 – 2003)
Boston Globe; Boston, Mass. (1980 – current)
Wall Street Journal (1984 - current) - New York Times NewspaperSearch the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1985).