It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference resources are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals and other books that you would refer to when wanting to know a definition of a word or concept, a general overview of a topic, specific information about a certain period of time or event in history.
Here is an invaluable one-stop reference for IS professionals, consultants and engineers. Wider ranging than a conventional dictionary, it enables you to check exact specifications, definitions, characteristics, options, relay diagrams, paths, alignments, sources, codes, events, tables, sequences, tradenames, methods, and numerous other vital facts that can spell disaster if misinterpreted or incorrectly specified.
In an area of technology where so many things can go wrong, this bestselling reference encourages maximum accuracy. Join the thousands already using this essential tool.
Everyone agrees that we're living in the Information Age. How have we shaped the Information Age, and how has it shaped us? The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications exhaustively explores the ways that editorial content - from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials - is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research. Entries are arranged alphabetically from Adversary, Role of Media as to Zimbabwe, Status of Media in.
A Technical Manager for Nortel Networks, Fraidoon Mazda has held various senior technical posts within the electronics and telecommunications industries. He is editor of the Telecommunications Engineer's Reference Book, now in its second edition, and has also edited a series of eight pocketbooks derived from this major work.
The Focal Illustrated Dictionary of Telecommunications:
• is written by experts with specialist knowledge
• contains essential data for on-the-job use
• includes over 6,000 terms, definitions and acronyms, from attenuation and Asymmetrical Digital Subscriber Line to X Series and zero bit insertion
• has over 350 line drawings
• is the most comprehensive source of its nature
Are you sometimes overwhelmed by the overabundance of jargon encountered in technical books and articles? Hargrave's Communications Dictionary is a treasure of simplified communications terms, definitions, acronyms, charts, equations, and a wealth of related information amassed over the author's extensive engineering career. From ATM to Zone Paging, this volume includes over ten thousand definitions of key phrases that readers in industry, government, and academia need to understand.
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
A selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
Full text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.