Skip to main content

American Sign Language: Articles & Databases

This guide provides starting points for research in American Sign Language.

Finding Articles through the BCC Libraries

BCC Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate magazine, newspaper, trade, and scholarly journal articles.  The databases below have been chosen especially for research in American Sign Language.

Icon Legend

http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/imagemanager/89541/bpl.png

http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/imagemanager/89541/peer_review_icon.png

http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/imagemanager/89541/government_document.jpg

Boston Public Library Resource

Peer Reviewed Content

United States Government Document or Publication

Recommended Databases for Research in American Sign Language

Multi-Discipline Databases

Search Films on Demand

Search Films on Demand from anywhere to find educational streaming videos.

Looking for Journals on American Sign Language?

The drop-down menu American Sign Language Journals (under Articles & Databases) lists journals that publish articles on ASL and related topics.

Why should I look for academic articles?

Why should you do research in academic journals?

  • Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
  • Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
  • Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
  • Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies

If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.

How do I get into a BPL Database?

 If you see this symbol

Boston Public Library Logo

You will know that the databases is provided through the Boston Public Library.  If you live, work, or go to school in the state of Massachusetts, you are eligible for a Boston Public Library eCard.  Fill out the form below and you will receive your eCard number. 

Just enter your BPL eCard number when prompted every time you access BPL databases.