Clinical Lab Science: Lab Tests & Protocols

BCC librarians are available to help you with your research. We provide guidance in locating information and using resources available through the library and on the internet.

You can also use our off-line form, and a librarian will e-mail you back with answers and suggestions. You will receive a reply within 2 business days.

Lab Testing

• Lab Tests Online
  Produced by the AACC; this site has been designed to help patients or family caregivers to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care, diagnosis, and treatment of a broad range of diseases. For medical professionals, this site can serve as a quick reference tool or as a resource for keeping up with advances in laboratory science.
• Laboratory Test Database (UCSF)
  Search by name of test or the analyte to find a fact sheet on each test and expected values.
• Test Catalog, Dept of Pathology Labs (U Michigan)
  Test Catalog contains descriptions of all test offered at UM.
• Mayo Clinic Labs Interpretive Handbook
  For the tests offered by Mayo Medical Laboratories, it provides interpretive guidance, along with necessary background clinical information to place the tests in proper context. The information for each test is prepared by a Mayo Clinic expert with direct oversight of that test.
• Clincal Laboratory Reference: Tables of Critical Limits, Values, Reference Values CLR Online is a catalog from the Medical Laboratory Observer.  In addition to showing which labs sell which tests, it also has handy PDFs of Critical values for therapeutic drug levels, cut-off & toxicity levels for drugs-of-abuse testing, a table of critical limits, and a table of reference intervals

Urinalysis

• Urinalysis Tutorial
  from the Internet Pathology Laboratory which explains proper procedure for a urinalysis and includes pictures of slides. 

Hematology

• Atlas of Hematology
  To teach students and professionals in the field of morphology of blood cells.
• Bloodline
  is a web site which publishes original research, creates reference works, and creates and disseminates educational material.
• Bloodline Image Atlas
  The first installment of this fully searchable directory features more than 800 hematological slides depicting various blood disorders and malignancies.

Toxicology

• Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)
  is the agency of the United States Government in charge of public health assessments of waste sites, health consultations concerning specific hazardous substances, health surveillance and registries, response to emergency releases of hazardous substances, applied research in support of public health assessments, information development and dissemination, and education and training concerning hazardous substances.
• TOXNET
  is a cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.
• WWW Virtual Library Forensic Toxicology
  is, quite literally, the use of toxicology in courts of law. This is most often understood to mean the analysis of alcohol, drugs, and poisons in body fluids and the interpretation of those analytical results for the benefit of the courts.

Protocols

• Protocol Online
  Protocol Online is a database of research protocols in a variety of life science fields. It contains protocols contributed by worldwide researchers as well as links to web protocols hosted by worldwide research labs, biotech companies, personal web sites.
• MicrobeLibrary Protocol Collection
  Common protocols in microbiology.
• VADLO Life Sciences Search Engine: Protocols
  Search VADLO for techniques, recipes, methods, procedures in molecular biology.
• Bio-protocol
  An e-journal founded in 2010 by a group of Stanford researchers to make life-science research more efficient and reproducible by curating and hosting high quality, open-access, life science protocols.