BCC Libraries provides access to a collection of streaming videos specific for clinical lab science. To the right is a brief description of the selected titles and listed below are instructions on how to access.
Please visit the database Films On Demand for further streaming videos on your topic.
Films On Demand videos are accessible on campus and off campus with a valid AccessBCC ID activated at the library. If the barcode on the back of your ID is not working (22777...) please visit the Library at any of the three campuses to activate.
Section one of this program profiles Dr. Swayam Sadanandan, a member of New York Magazine’s Best Doctor Hall of Fame: her dedication to treating sickle-cell anemia as head of the Pediatric Hematology/Oncology program at The Brooklyn Hospital Center, her efforts to provide social services to patients and their families, and her irrepressible optimism. Section two turns the spotlight on Michele Speer, RN, breast cancer survivor and nurse coordinator for the Women’s Breast Center at Stamford Hospital’s Tully Health Center. Her mission? To provide support, education, and advocacy for each of her breast cancer patients. Part of the series The Road to Success: Stories of Career Satisfaction in Popular Fields. Run Time: 16 minutes
Focusing on the subject of blood-borne pathogens, this program includes discussion of epidemiology, pathophysiology, risk behaviors, opportunistic diseases, and diagnostic tests. The video also reviews disease transmission and prevention as well as current treatment modalities. Complies with OSHA standards. Florida-approved curriculum. Designated for 2 contact hours of continuing nursing education. A viewable/printable facilitator's guide is available online. Run Time: 30 minutes
In Germany, more than 4 million pints of blood are donated annually. Nearly 900,000 more pints per year are required to satisfy the transfusion needs of German hospitals. How will this gap be closed? Blood-economizing measures used by surgeons and some of the research efforts to create synthetic blood are the focus of this program. A scientist is filmed in Mexico working with the hemoglobin from pig’s blood to treat diabetes-related sores. Next, an anesthesiologist explains the technique of presurgical blood withdrawal and thinning for patients undergoing major operations. Research regarding the effects of the hormone EPO on mice concludes the program. Contains surgical scenes of a graphic nature. Not available in French-speaking Canada. Run Time: 26 minutes
Every second, 2.5 million red blood corpuscles are formed in our bodies; in their 120-day life expectancy, each will cover about 250 miles in our blood vessels. In the course of a human’s life, 200,000 tons of blood are pumped through the body, supplying each individual cell with its necessities, removing waste products, and playing a critical defensive role in warding off foreign cells. That we can survive tropical heat and arctic cold with a relatively constant working temperature is only possible because of our blood. This program provides a thorough introduction to our blood. Run Time: 45 minutes
Blood is a fluid with amazing properties. In this program, we learn that blood acts virtually like an organ and fulfills a host of complex tasks within the organism, from oxygen transport to defending against infection. The crucial importance of blood in maintaining physical equilibrium has led to the development of numerous technologies dealing with its classification, preservation, and transfusion. The program also covers blood disorders such as anemia, hemophilia, and leukemia, as well as current medical research in treating and curing these disorders. Run Time: 23 minutes
Each of your fingers has many small blood arteries. A small injured artery exposes red blood cells that carry oxygen; platelets, which come from white blood cell fragments; and clotting factors, which help blood to clot. The exposure of collagen fibers in your tissue begins the clotting process. As platelets begin to stick to the cut edges, they release chemicals to attract even more platelets. Eventually a platelet plug is formed and the external bleeding stops. Inside your body, the clotting factors create a cascade of clotting activity. These clotting factors cause strands of fibrin (blood-borne material) to stick together and seal the wound inside. Eventually, the cut blood vessel heals and the blood clot dissolves after several days. Run Time: 2 minutes
Blood is a complex, living fluid; red blood cells make up the majority of blood but many other cells and molecules also flow through the arteries and veins. Red blood cells, white blood cells, and platelets descend from common stem cells. Bone marrow produces red blood cells and white blood cells. Run Time: 3:38 minutes
This program focuses on safe transfer techniques for health care assistants. After demonstrating the use of good body mechanics for professionals, the video teaches the correct use of assistive devices for promoting patient mobility. Designated for 2 contact hours of continuing nursing education. A viewable/printable facilitator's guide is available online. Run Time: 28 minutes
This program provides an introduction to the topic of legal and ethical boundaries in health care, exploring what they are and how transgressions occur. Using interviews with three experienced health care professionals, it places special emphasis on the subtle or ambiguous situations that most often lead to complaints. The video is rounded out with dramatized scenarios aimed at initiating classroom discussion. A viewable/printable worksheet is available online. Run Time: 22 minutes