Skip to main content

OneBook 2012: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks: Useful Academic Resources

Join the OneBook community at Bristol Community College with The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, written by Rebecca Skloot.

Related Resources

Getting Started

The Libraries at BCC offer a wealth of high quality resources for all your academic research needs. In the early stages of developing a research question or thesis, encyclopedias can give you a broad overview of topics, often from a variety of perspectives. Check out the Gale Virtual Reference Library or Credo Reference for this purpose. They're located among our A-Z Listing of Databases, in alphabetical order. Try searching broad topics such as:

Medical ethics

Informed consent

Human experimentation

Journal Articles on Medical Ethics

Journal articles are most useful once you have refined your research topic. Try searching a comprehensive database such as Academic Search Premier, or Academic OneFile, which provide access to journals and magazines from a variety of subject disciplines. Any of the following search terms can be combined with another term to help narrow your search. Choose the advanced search function and try combining search terms, such as these:

clinical trials AND informed consent AND elderly

medical ethics AND economic aspects

human experimentation AND race

If you are examining your topic from a science or health-related perspective, check out some of the discipline-specific databases, listed below:

Ebsco Databases

  • Biomedical Reference Collection
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition & Nursing/Academic Edition
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection

Gale Databases 

  • Health Reference Center Academic
  • Nursing and Allied Health Collection
  • Science in Context

If you get stuck or have any questions, contact a librarian for help!

BBC Documentary: The Way of All Flesh

The Way of All Flesh is a BBC-produced documentary from 1997 that takes an early look at "the myth, mystery and science surrounding Henrietta Lacks’ life and death and the effect her cells had on science." The film, directed by Adam Curtis, won Best Science and Nature Documentary at the San Francisco International Film Festival.

Print and eBooks from SAILS Library Catalog

Search the SAILS Library Catalog for relevant print and electronic books related to the following subject headings:

HUMAN EXPERIMENTATION IN MEDICINE

MEDICINE RESEARCH MORAL and ETHICAL ASPECTS

Bioethics Guidelines and Regulations

Related Issues

The web links in this box will introduce you to other ethical issues and/or cases involving human experimentation and informed consent. 

New England Journal of Medicine: The Havasupai Indian Tribe Case - Lessons for Research Involving Stored Biologic Samples

The Deadly Deception: A documentary about the Tuskeegee Syphillis Study