Animal Science: Articles & Databases
Academic Databases from BCC
Below are links to BCC databases that index science journals. These databases are subscription-based, so remember: when researching anywhere off-campus, you'll need to enter your 900 number in order to access and search for journal articles.
How to Read Scholarly Articles in Biology
- Reading Primary Literature in Biology"The tutorial is intended to introduce non-majors and beginning biology majors to the most effective ways to read and evaluate primary biology literature. It emphasizes understanding the structure of scientific papers, identifying hypotheses, examining experimental designs, and interpreting graphs. This website is a collaboration with contributions from faculty, Library and Information Services, and students at Kenyon College."
Databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowDesigned for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
- Alexander Street Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 18,000* titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.
Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons. - Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new windowAssociates Programs Source Plus is a database designed specifically for the research needs of two-year college students. Providing thousands of full-text journals and books, plus country reports and market research reports, it covers the most relevant subjects, including biotechnology, graphic arts, criminal justice and veterinary assisting.
- Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic This link opens in a new windowMedical database providing full text for over 100 journals, including full text for many peer-reviewed, scholarly publications. (Some titles have indexing and abstracts only for earlier years.) Virtually every area of medical study is covered, including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences. Coverage: 1985 – present.
- Films On Demand This link opens in a new windowA web-based digital video delivery service that allows you instant 24/7 access to over 6,200 full-length programs and 65,800 video segments grouped into prearranged subject-specific categories: Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, Health & Medicine, Technical Education, Family & Consumer Sciences, Careers & Job Search, and Guidance & Counseling.
- ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new windowScience Direct College Edition is a database of full-text, high quality journals published by Elsevier. This database consists of 2 different collections--Physical Sciences, and Health & Life Sciences. Citations & abstracts are provided for pre-1995 information and for Elsevier journals the library does not subscribe to. Most titles are from 1995 - present.
- Science In Context This link opens in a new windowScience in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Search for science articles from Open Access Journals
- Directory of Open Access Journals"The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content."
- Veterinary SciencesVeterinary Sciences is an international, scientific, peer-reviewed, open access journal on veterinary sciences published monthly online by MDPI.
- Public Library of Science - Biology"PLOS Biology features works of exceptional significance, originality, and relevance in all areas of biological science, from molecules to ecosystems, including works at the interface of other disciplines, such as chemistry, medicine, and mathematics. [The PLOS] audience is the international scientific community as well as educators, policy makers, patient advocacy groups, and interested members of the public around the world."
Why should I look for academic articles?
Why should you do research in academic journals?
- Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
- Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
- Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
- Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies
If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.
Library Help Chat
BCC librarians are available to help you with your research. We provide guidance in locating information and using resources available through the library and on the internet.
If a librarian is online, use the window above to chat live. A librarian is available to chat during normal business hours.
You can also use our off-line form, and a librarian will e-mail you back with answers and suggestions. You will receive a reply within 2 business days.