Animal Science: Books & eBooks
Using Books for Research
Books are generally considered support materials for animal science research, not the prime focus. The hot new discoveries are found in the journal literature. However books encapsulate what we know about a given topic and are critical for background information and learning how related topics fit together. Any research project should include consultation of books, encyclopedias, and/or handbooks related to the topic for additional learning.
Bristol LLC Search
- A-Z List of DatabasesThe complete list of databases we offer for finding research resources. You need your 900 number to access these databases from home. List can be sorted alphabetically, by subject, and by content type.
- HELM Course Reserve CatalogCourse Reserve provides textbooks, books, and other materials that support the instructional requirements of specific courses. Many faculty members choose to place material on reserve in order to ensure that all students in the class have access to it. Physical course reserves, such as books and DVDs, are located at each campus at the circulation desk of the Library Learning Commons. This links to the HELM catalog search for Course Reserve materials in the Bristol LLC.
- Course E-Reserve MaterialLike traditional course reserves, e-reserves are materials that are provided by course professors / instructors for use in their classes. These materials, however, are accessible from off campus, and are generally scans of book chapters (downloadable in PDF), permanent links to articles in our databases. and links to other online resources such as films.
- Commonwealth CatalogCan't find what you are looking for in our system? With access to millions of titles, the Commonwealth Catalog extends your library’s reach to all participating libraries throughout Massachusetts, with convenient pick-up at your local library.
Choose HELM-BCC : Bristol Community College LRC.
Login in with 22777 plus your 900# (or the barcode on the back of your student ID) and PIN (typically last 4 digits telephone number).
- Interlibrary Loan - ILLIf an item is unavailable through the Library Learning Commons HELM Online Catalog OR the Commonwealth Catalog, this services allows you to borrow books or receive copies of documents that are owned by libraries outside our lending area.
- Journal Title Look-UpSearch our physical and database journals by title.
Books/eBooks
Veterinary Immunology and Immunopathology by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781617616563Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Small Animal Care and Management by
Reader-friendly and engaging, SMALL ANIMAL CARE AND MANAGEMENT, Fourth Edition, offers a comprehensive guide to the care and husbandry of small animals. Through a logical flow of information, it introduces you to the basics of the small animal industry, including the history, safety concerns and care and welfare of these animals before diving into the specifics of each, with chapters covering dogs, cats, reptiles, birds, fish and exotic species. Full-color photos and illustrations visually depict various breeds and their characteristics, anatomy, handling techniques, housing and other care concerns to facilitate learning, while activities and additional resources offer the opportunity for application and further study.
Call Number: SF409 .W37 2016ISBN: 9781285425528Publication Date: 2015-02-12
Veterinary Office Practices by
VETERINARY OFFICE PRACTICE, 2ND Edition provides an inside look at the exciting roles and responsibilities of veterinary assistants in animal hospitals or private veterinary practice, along with detailed instructions on scheduling, client relations, charting, case management software, billing, and everything you need to work successfully within a veterinary practice. In addition to clear learning objectives, helpful charts and graphics, and reader-friendly concepts, VETERINARY OFFICE PRACTICE, 2ND Edition's includes case studies and review questions that allow you to apply chapter concepts and check your understanding.
Call Number: F756.4 .V46 2012ISBN: 9781111139001Publication Date: 2011-06-16
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Practice Management Consult by
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Practice Management Consult, Second Edition has been extensively updated and expanded, with 55 new topics covering subjects such as online technologies, hospice care, mobile practices, compassion fatigue, practice profitability, and more. Carefully formatted using the popular Five-Minute Veterinary Consult style, the book offers fast access to authoritative information on all aspects of practice management. This Second Edition is an essential tool for running a practice, increasing revenue, and managing staff in today's veterinary practice. Addressing topics ranging from client communication and management to legal issues, financial management, and human resources, the book is an invaluable resource for business management advice applicable to veterinary practice. Sample forms and further resources are now available on a companion website. Veterinarians and practice managers alike will find this book a comprehensive yet user-friendly guide for success in today's challenging business environment.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781118662182Publication Date: 2013-08-13
Library of Congress Classification
- Subclass SF- Animal cultureUse this list to expand your search on specific topics
Sample Keyword Search in BCC/SAILS Catalog
- Item RecordClick on this link to explore parts of an individual item record to understand how to get a book once you locate it in the catalog.
How to search HELM
