It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tsunami by Murata; Tomotsuka TakayamaThis book provides comprehensive scientific information and knowledge survival tips on how to survive a tsunami. it is especially useful to those living (or about to live) in tsunami-prone areas, and to travelers who may visit such areas. The book is composed of two parts: The first consisting of three chapters on how to survive a tsunami by (i) describing precious lessons obtained from actual tsunami disasters, (ii) imparting fundamental knowledge of tsunami science for survival, and (iii) listing measures for tsunami disaster mitigation. The second part provides more detailed scientific knowledge on tsunamis and consists two chapters: one describes tsunami occurrence mechanism and near-shore behavior; the other mentions numerical simulation and tsunami forecasting.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Disaster Preparedness against Accidents or Terrorist Attack by Prasanta K. RayAbout the Book: The author elaborated in this book his personal reminiscences and experiences, what he gathered from being one of the eyewitnesses of the aftermath of the world's largest terrorist attack on September 11, 2001, when the AL-Qaida Terrorists destroyed the Twin Towers of the American Trade Center at Manhattan, New York. The author was going to his laboratory at the Beth Israel Hospital at Manhattan that day. Incidentally, the task of dealing with the aftermath of the world's largest toxic chemical disaster, which took place in the early morning of December 3, 1984 at the Union Carbide factory at Bhopal, India, was also fell upon him. The author was the Director of ITRC, Lucknow at that time. He had personally witnessed the helplessness of the people who suffered from various types of casualties. He also had shared the sorrows and agonies of many people who lost their nearest and dearest ones, or friends and other members of their families. The lack of preparedness at all quarters made the situation worse. The incident led to a chaotic condition. The question was who and where, where to go to seek help and guidance, who is in command, how to mobilize resources etc. Everywhere there was a disorderly situation. People were bewildered, kind of speechless and flabbergasted. The author felt that there exists an urgent necessity to educate the people at all level regarding what to do under similar such circumstances. What type of preparedness they should undertake and also equip them with. The author strongly recommended that there exists a pressing need of establishing a well-planned preparedness plan all around the city to face such kind of circumstances. It must operate on wartime urgency and with equal competency. The present volume is the outcome of such a thought in order to help and educate the common citizen, the planners, administrators, law and order personnel, medical experts, hospital emergencies, philanthropic and religious organizations, and the voluntary agencies such that they get themselves organized to deal with the aftermath of such kind of incidents, man-made or otherwise. Contents: Introduction Historical Perspectives on Accidents Causing Major Chemical Disasters Deliberate Terrorist Attack Dropping of an Atom Bomb Hazardous Chemicals/Biologicals/Radiological as Potential Weapons for the Terrorists Coping with Disasters Chance Accidents or that caused by Terrorist Attack Sponsored Terrorism Preventive Measures at the State, Federal Government and Individual Level Preparedness Plan and Measures Needed to Safeguard the Health of the Population Disaster Preparedness: Protection: Safety Devices and Control Safety Agents/Devices Required for Protection Disaster Cum Emergency Handling Procedures Social Aspect of Chemical/Biological/Radiological Disasters Awareness Programme, Psychological Counseling, Spiritual Guidance and Rehabilitation Arrangement Tsunami - Earthquakes, Volcanic Eruptions, Typhoons, Toronadoes Cyclones, High Tides, Flood and Similar such Natural Disasters
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 01-01-2000
Local Planning for Terror and Disaster by Leonard A. Cole; Nancy D. ConnellLocal Planning for Terror and Disaster gives voice to experts in key fields involved with local preparedness, assessing the quality of preparedness in each field, and offering directions for improvement. Introductory chapters provide overviews of terror medicine, security and communications, which are indispensable to successful preparedness, while subsequent chapters concentrate on a particular field and how responders from that field communicate and interact with others during and after an event. Thus, a chapter by a physician discusses not only the doctor's role but how that role is, or should be, coordinated with emergency medical technicians and police. Similarly, chapters by law enforcement figures also review police responsibilities and interactions with nurses, EMTs, volunteers and other relevant responders. Developed from topics at recent Symposia on Terror Medicine and Security, Local Planning also encompasses aspects of emergency and disaster medicine, as well as techniques for diagnosis, rescue, coordination and security that are distinctive to a terrorist attack. Each chapter also includes a case study that demonstrates preparedness, or lack thereof, for a real or hypothetical event, including lessons learned, next steps, and areas for improvement in this global era which increasingly calls for preparedness at a local level.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-10-09
Global Biosecurity by Peter Katona (Editor); John P. Sullivan (Editor); Michael D. Intriligator (Editor)This book explores a range of biohealth and biosecurity threats, places them in context, and offers responses and solutions from global and local, networked and pyramidal, as well as specialized and interdisciplinary perspectives. Specifically covering bioterrorism, emerging infectious diseases, pandemic disease preparedness and remediation, agroterroism, food safety, and environmental issues, the contributors demonstrate that to counter terrorism of any kind, a global, networked, and multidisciplinary approach is essential. To be successful in biosecurity, this book argues it is necessary to extend partnerships, cooperation, and co-ordination between public health, clinical medicine, private business, law enforcement and other agencies locally, nationally and internationally. Internationally, a clear understanding is needed of what has happened in past epidemics and what was accomplished in past bioprograms (in Britain, South Africa, Russia, for example). This book also assesses how, with the right technology and motivation, both a state and a non-state actor could initiate an extremely credible biothreat to security at both local and national levels. This book will be of much interest to students, researchers and practitioners of security studies, public health, public policy and IR in general. Peter Katona is Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA in Infectious Diseases. He is co-founder of Biological Threat Mitigation, a bioterror consulting firm. John P. Sullivan is a lieutenant with the Los Angeles Sheriff's Department. He is also a researcher focusing on terrorism, conflict disaster, intelligence studies, and urban operations. He is co-founder of the Los Angeles Terrorism Early Warning (TEW) Group. Michael D. Intriligator is Professor of Economics at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). He is also Professor of Political Science, Professor of Public Policy in the School of Public Policy and Social Research, and Co-Director of the Jacob Marschak Interdisciplinary Colloquium on Mathematics in the Behavioral Sciences, all at UCLA.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010-02-23
Disaster Preparedness for Health Care Facilities by Daniel Kollek (Editor)The text is geared towards health care workers such as adult and paediatric physicians and nurses, paramedics and health care facility administrators and will cover disaster preparedness for health care facilities such as hospitals and long-term care homes. The content of the book addresses preparedness for disasters, both natural and man-made, from the standpoint of health care facility pre-planning preparedness to managing and overcoming disasters when they occur. Beginning with how to assess the risk to and readiness of your health care facility for potential disasters, the book progresses to how to deal with any readiness deficiencies found. Each chapter can be a standalone document addressing an individual aspect of disaster preparedness but when all chapters are combined, it creates a complete and authoritative guide on all aspects of disaster preparedness. This book is the only product of its kind that centralizes all of the content required for a health care facility to plan, prepare and manage disaster related events.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Principles of Emergency Management by Michael J. Fagel (Editor)Principles of Emergency Management: Hazard Specific Issues and Mitigation offers preparedness and mitigation recommendations for advanced emergency planning. Because disasters are so unpredictable, advance planning is needed to effectively respond to and mitigate against the potential effects of such events. Whether a disaster is natural or man-made, accidental or deliberate, the best way to protect the public is by implementing an integrated emergency management system incorporating all potential stakeholders through all phases of the event. As such, the book suggests best practices for drills, exercises, and pre-event team building and communication. More than a dozen contributors offer their professional expertise on a wide variety of topics, including: Emergency operations center management Continuity planning of vital services in the aftermath of a disaster The role of the public health official Developing public-private partnerships Specific types of disasters, including terrorism, agroterrorism, pandemics, and active shooter incidents Mass care, sheltering, and human services The special needs of children in disasters Traditional and social media and their impact on emergency management The book is a valuable planning resource for those tasked with managing operations to prepare for, mitigate, and respond to disasters.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011-12-12
HELM Catalog Basic Search
What will it take to survive?
What skills does one need to survive? In the age of technology, can we assume that all luxuries will be available to us during the apocalypse? Here's a brief list of skills we may need to survive:
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. It also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,900 periodicals; nearly 500 full text reference books; more than 84,700 biographies; over 100,500 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of more than 202,100 photos, maps and flags. Coverage: 1975 – present.
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and pamphlets. Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles, 300 of which are full text. Also provides the full text of over 240 pamphlets.