eReference Resources: Technology & Engineering

The BCS Glossary is the most authoritative and comprehensive work of its kind on the market today. This unrivalled study aid and reference tool has newly updated entries and is divided into themed sections making it more than just a list of definitions.

This handbook of cybersecurity best practices is for public officials and citizens, employers and employees, corporations and consumers. Essays also address the development of state-of-the-art software systems and hardware for public and private organizations.

Provides overviews of hundreds of applications of computer technology and the fundamental design, economics and social impacts of the information society.

This work considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This broad coverage supports the numerous courses in applied and professional ethics and policy related to the practice of science and technology in education, including new analytical and interpretive essays on events, scholarship, people, and legal decisions.

The Handy Technology Answer Book explains how technology has revolutionized the way people live, work, and play. It covers a broad range of fields, including medicine, mining, architecture, transportation, the military, and agriculture, and how they have been changed by technology.

This biographical dictionary profiles electrochemists from all over the world who have researched and developed ever more efficient batteries and energy cells. Each entry traces the subject's origin, education, discoveries and patents, as well as hobbies and family life.

Philosophy: Technology covers such topics as cyber warfare, designing children, video games and virtual reality, nanotechnology, and technology and the environment.

Machines That Think explores how artificial intelligence helps us understand human intelligence and machines that compose music and write stories, and it asks if AI is really a threat.

As a resource for exploring the influences on American values, Opinions Throughout History: Social Media Issues provides an essential and an accessible commentary on the ways in which advances in communication technologies and practices have shaped American opinion and history.

The SAGE Handbook of Web History marks the first comprehensive review of this subject to date. Its editors emphasise two main different forms of study: the use of the web as an historical resource, and the web as an object of study in its own right.