It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This volume explains how bullying became a problem in schools and what can be done about it. Includes a background and history of school bullying before diving into raging controversies over causes and solutions. Contains personal essays from experts in the field and profiles of empathy-building bullying prevention organizations and additionally includes data and documents, a chronological history of bullying, and resources for further research.
Covering some of the most hotly contested topics in crime and criminal justice, including proposed sentencing and prison reforms, controversial developments like Stand Your Ground laws, and Supreme Court decisions, this work supplies essential background, current data, and a range of viewpoints on these important issues, enabling readers to better understand current crime/punishment issues within the context of America's ever-evolving culture, economy, and politics.
This book explores all aspects of the gun control issue, including incidence of gun violence; gun rights; government regulation, legislation, and court decisions; gun organizations (for gun control and for gun rights); gun enthusiast subcultures (hunters, target shooters, collectors); and U.S. attitudes toward guns. It presents current and historical data on U.S. gun violence and places these numbers against international statistics on gun violence.
This book is an informed and informative resource for understanding the reasons for and consequences of mass shootings in America. It includes essays from experts in the fields of criminal justice, sociology, and psychology about key issues surrounding the phenomenon of mass shootings and a collection of opinion pieces that provide insights into debates surrounding gun laws and other issues related to mass shootings. The title also features an encyclopedia section containing entries on every mass shooting in the United States from 1966 to 2016 for easy reference and a collection of illuminating and historically important primary documents pertaining to mass shooting events and the broader problem of violence in American society.
The Opioid Crisis: A Reference Handbook provides a detailed and accurate history of opioid use, helping readers to understand how the crisis developed, as well as a review of problems arising out of this crisis and some of the solutions that have been proposed. The volume additionally comprises ten essays from individuals who have a personal or educational connection to the crisis and short biographical and explanatory essays on important individuals and organizations working to mitigate the opioid crisis by supporting research of the biological systems implicated in opioid dependence and raising awareness of the challenges of addiction in America today. It also provides resources for readers who want to continue their study of the topic or pursue research in the field.
This book examines mass incarceration in the United States, including the roles of judges and prosecutors, the severity of punishment for drug offenders and white-collar offenders, the abuse of prisoners and the enforcement of prisoner rights, and repeat offending by released prisoners. It also considers prospects for reducing current incarceration levels, the availability and effectiveness of alternatives to incarceration, and the future of capital punishment.
Routledge Handbook on Native American Justice Issues is an authoritative volume that provides an overview of the state of American Indigenous populations and their contact with justice concerns and the criminal justice system. The volume covers the history and origins of Indian Country in America; continuing controversies regarding treaties; unique issues surrounding tribal law enforcement; the operation of tribal courts and corrections, including the influence of Indigenous restorative justice practices; the impact of native religions and customs; youth justice issues, including educational practices and gaps; women's justice issues; and special circumstances surrounding healthcare for Indians, including the role substance abuse plays in contributing to criminal justice problems.
The reference guide comprises A–Z entries on terrorist organizations, major terrorist attacks, and prominent terrorist leaders. The work concludes with a carefully selected group of primary source documents essential to understanding the contemporary terrorist landscape and a detailed timeline that will help readers to place significant terrorism-related events in their proper context.
This guide to the scientific processes and the legal, social, and ethical issues involved in the forensic sciences covers the individuals, techniques and principles of biology, chemistry, law, medicine, physics, computer science, geology, and psychology involved in the multidisciplinary examination of crime scenes and evidence used in legal proceedings.