It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The brand-new American Heritage Dictionary of Medicine reflects the latest developments in medicine, with entries featuring newly approved medications, advances in genetics and immunology, recent changes in the terminology of diseases and syndromes, and new psychiatric classifications introduced in DSM-5.
Provides updated information about microbes that are spread from person to person and the diseases they cause, including influenza, lice infestation, pneumonias, staphylococcal and streptococcal infections, tuberculosis, and others.
This book highlights four infectious diseases: polio, tetanus, measles, and mumps. This book summarizes the symptoms and disease progression of all four diseases and provides information about the toxin or virus that causes each disease.
For the first time, the world's experts in HIV-AIDS have come together to publish the Encyclopedia of AIDS. The work features thousands of entries, including medical, cultural, social, and pharmacological essays.
Responding to the needs of providers, directcare workers, family, and other caregivers, the diverse array of entries included in this encyclopedia recognize and address the complex medical, social, and psychological problems associated with geriatric care.
The field of feeding and eating disorders represents one of the most challenging areas in mental health, covering childhood, adolescent and adult manifestations of the disorders and requiring expertise in both the physical and psychological issues that can cause, maintain, and exacerbate these disorders.
This award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by luminaries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science. Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today.
This book is a guide to information on infectious diseases that have either lately appeared for the first time in a population or have recently rapidly increased in incidence such as Ebola, Lassa Fever, MERS, Rift Valley Fever, and Zika virus. The articles avoid medical jargon and use language that laypersons can understand while still providing authoritative, balanced information that addresses the pathogens that are causing and threaten to cause significant health crises.
Diseases and Illnesses Transmitted to Humans from Animals and Insects and Contaminated Food and Water explains the various diseases and illnesses that are spread by animals, insects, and through the contamination of food and water, along with the processes involved in identifying an outbreak of these illnesses and diseases. The book also provides tips and safety measures to protect yourself and your family, including an explanation of the epidemiology of emerging and reemerging infectious diseases caused by these pathogens. It also includes a directory of organizations that provide additional help and information.
Presents information on numerous diseases and conditions. Articles include a definition of the disease or condition, an explanation of how it works in the body, information on causes, symptoms and diagnosis, treatment or cure, and lifestyles. 4 volumes.
Providing a practical and comprehensive guide to midwifery care, The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook continues to promote best practice and a safe, satisfying birthing experience with a focus on women-centred care. Covering all aspects of care during labour and birth, from obstetric emergencies to the practicalities of perineal repair (including left-hand suturing), the fourth edition has been fully revised and updated... The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook remains an essential resource for both student midwives and experienced practising midwives.
Dependence on opioids has grown into an epidemic, its effects felt globally and most of all in the United States. The Opioid Crisis: A Reference Handbook provides a detailed and accurate history of opioid use, helping readers to understand how the crisis developed, as well as a review of problems arising out of this crisis and some of the solutions that have been proposed. The volume additionally comprises ten essays from individuals who have a personal or educational connection to the crisis and short biographical and explanatory essays on important individuals and organizations working to mitigate the opioid crisis...
The Routledge History of Disease draws on innovative scholarship in the history of medicine to explore the challenges involved in writing about health and disease throughout the past and across the globe, presenting a varied range of case studies and perspectives on the patterns, technologies and narratives of disease that can be identified in the past and that continue to influence our present.
This book documents the rise of the anti-vaccination movement, provides reasons for its prominence today, and explains the effects of vaccine refusal on public health. It also addresses concerns about the role of government in regulating vaccine production and administration, along with questions about vaccine safety.