Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HST260: America's War on Terrorism (Loggains): Web Resources

Researching Internet Resources

Counterterrorism Resources

New York Times Terrorism Room for Debate

Take a look at the New York Times Room for Debate on Terrorism, where outside contributors to discuss news events and other timely issues. 

Global Terrorism Database

The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2013 (with annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 125,000 cases.

Global Terrorism Index

The Global Terrorism Index measures the impact of terrorism in 162 countries. To account for the lasting effects of terrorism, each country is given a score that represents a five year weighted average.

RAND's National Security and Terrorism Resources

RAND conducts terrorism research for the U.S. Department of Defense and allied ministries of defense. Explore their National Security and Terrorism resource page searching by format or subtopics.

Suicide Attack Network Database

The Suicide Attack Network Database (SAND) is the most extensive database of its kind, documenting all known suicide attacks from October 1980 to January 2017 (6,224 in total). Like competing databases, SAND lists date of attack, sponsoring organization/s, location and target of attack, and number of innocents killed and wounded. In addition, the database categorizes suicide attacks by target type (combatant, political, and/or civilian), target location (foreign, domestic, or mixed), organization location (foreign, domestic, or mixed), specific conflict and conflict type

Terrorist Organizations

Articles about Terrorism

Website Evaluation

While conducting research on the web, it is imperative to evaluate the website in question for authority, documentation, currency, and bias.  Doing so will ensure that you are using the most credible information possible to support your thesis.

Authority and Accuracy

Who produced the site?  Are they a credible source?  What is the purpose of the site?  Why was it created?  Is the person, organization, or group qualified to write this content?  What is the domain of the URL?

  • .com or.biz - a business or commercial website
  • .edu - an educational institution
  • .gov or .mil - a U.S. military or government website
  • .net - a personal website
  • .org - a website for a not-for-profit organization

Documentation

Is there adequate documentation for factual statements?  Is the documentation reliable, verifiable from a second source? Is there enough information to cite this information in a paper (author, title, source, date)?

Currency

Is the information up to date?  When was it created, or last edited?  Are the links up to date or dead?  Is the author using outdated statistics?

Objectivity and Bias

Is the document biased or slanted?  Are there few or no logical errors such as appeal to authority or circular reasoning?  If you found this information a printed source, would you trust it?