Finding Articles through the BCC Libraries
BCC Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate magazine, newspaper, trade, and scholarly journal articles. The databases below have been chosen especially for research for HST112.
Accessing BCC Library Resources from Off-Campus
When you are off campus (or in locations without a recognized IP address), you will be required to verify that you are a current BCC student by entering either your student ID number or your BCC Campus Card ID.
For library databases (including eBook databases) all you need is your 900#
Icon Legend
|
|
|
|
|
Boston Public Library Resource |
Peer Reviewed Content |
United States Government Document or Publication |
Recommeded Databases
-
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
-
World History In Context This link opens in a new windowAn engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
-
Dictionary of Literary Biography - Gale This link opens in a new windowFull text database providing biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genre. The award-winning Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
-
eBook Central This link opens in a new windowChoose from 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers on one platform. ProQuest Ebook Central offers titles from hundreds of trusted publishers on one modern, intuitive platform. Its mobile-optimized design lets researchers get “anytime access” to the content they need – from a single chapter to an entire book.
-
JSTORA digital library founded in 1995. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now also includes books and primary sources, and current issues of journals. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.
-
Historical Boston Globe This link opens in a new window(1872 - 1984 ) This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
-
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window(1851 - 2012 ) This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Why should I look for academic articles?
Why should you do research in academic journals?
- Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
- Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
- Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
- Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies
If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.
How do I get into a BPL Database?
If you see this symbol
You will know that the databases is provided through the Boston Public Library. If you live, work, or go to school in the state of Massachusetts, you are eligible for a Boston Public Library eCard. Fill out the form below and you will receive your eCard number.
Just enter your BPL eCard number when prompted every time you access BPL databases.
-
Register with the Boston Public LibraryConnect to hundreds of additional databases through the Boston Public Library.
Academic Search Premier
Is This Article Relevant to My Research? A Guide to Skimming
-
Is This Article Relevant to My Research? A Guide to SkimmingWant some pointers for evaluating journal articles? Check out this infographic.
Note for users of screen readers: These infographics are usable with a screen reader such as Mac VoiceOver, but imperfectly so. If you experience any difficulty with these documents, please click here.
How to Get an eCard from the Boston Public Library
Why use scholarly articles?
Why should you do research in academic journals?
- Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
- Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
- Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
- Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies
If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.